WIAW: Bravo For Breakfast and Sweet Snackaroos!

I haven’t participated in WIAW for a few weeks, primarily because my blog up-keep has been less than stellar, and also because most of my meals have been consumed in a clinic, neatly packed by a dietician according to my new meal plan.

I will tell you one thing about my daily eats. however,Uncrustrables and tuna fish sandwiches are kind of my new best friends…

Then I got to thinking…since I am doing a “hospitalization at home,” I am still responsible for breakfast and a night-time snack, which has drastically changed since program.

Gone are the days of Arctic Zero Pints (they are delicious, don’t get me wrong but we are trying to eliminate marketed diet foods) and welcome to some of my new fall favorites and other delicious treats I was lucky enough to find on my doorstep.

So what exactly have become my new morning meal faves?

Well, after seeing several people tweet about this delectable item, I was THRILLED to see it on the Giant shelves (ON SALE so double bonus!!!) as I stopped to pick up some milk.

You guessed it…

Thomas Pumpkin Spice Bagel Thins

Thomas'® Pumpkin Spice Bagel Thins™ Bagels

Last year I found the regular size bagels, which are obviously fantastic as well, but for some reason I couldn’t locate those again??  Did they stop making them in favor of the smaller variety?

To be honest, I don’t care, because BOTH are stellar and AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME when paired with some Plain Chobani, Laughing Cow Cinnamon Cream Cheese, or any form of nut butter.

Seriously, seek these babies out because they are the PERFECT way to welcome the new season!

Erewhon Buckwheat and Hemp Cereal

I love cereal! LOVE IT! Like, a little too much and that is probably why I have shied away from it for so long, because I always feared I would instantaneously consume the entire box.

Regardless of this phobia I have always enjoyed the Uncle Sam’s kinds and kept them in my pantry for various baking ventures (they make great rice krispies!!!) and to add to yogurt parfait.

During one of my favorite week time twitter chats (Attune chat is every Wednesday at noon, just an FYI 😉 ) Annalies mentioned the new Erewhon Buckwheat and Hemp.

I enjoy both those flavors and prefer a flakey cereal (unless it’s Kashi Crunch then I am totally on board, as well) so when the box arrived on my front stoop I was excited to dive in!

Stellar nutritional profile and delicious;I really enjoyed this breakfast grain with a flavored Chobani just to give it a little sweetness.

I also paired it with Vanilla Almond Breeze and a bit of cinnamon and was not disappointed, so really, either way is worth mentioning!

Now I am looking forward to trying the Skinner’s Raisin Bran I just spotted on the shelf, since that was a favorite of mine as a kid!

Thanks Attune, you do help make my mornings delicious and nutritious!!!

I will admit these have been my two go-to grains, as I am relatively boring and unimaginative when I wake up hungry and ready to eat, but I do have a few things up my sleeve for the weekend that I can hopefully share soon! AND food variety is one of my week’s goals so definitely look for some new products in the upcoming weeks!

Scary but exciting; recovery truly is an adventure!!

And because I used to rely on the SAME things every night for my p.m. snack, I pretty much eliminated those items entirely and incorporated some completely new to me finds for when I am relaxing before bed.

Whole Fruit 100 Calorie Smoothies

At first I was hesitant because these are advertised as 100 calorie smoothies, BUT BUT BUT, this is the equivalent to my normal glass of milk I would pour into a smoothie I make in a blender, so I thought the Whole Foods variety were a great addition to other selections I choose, in order to satisfy my exchanges.

PLUS, these are delicious and a welcome change from the either skim or almond milk I was normally consuming.

I personally like the Pineapple-Mango because it kind of reminds me of Disney World and the delicious Dole Whips of Adventureland, but my sister insists the Mixed Berry is the best.

I will leave it up to you because I highly suggest you picking up these delicious frozen beverages on your next run to the store.

…Make the tastes of summer last just a little bit longer 🙂

If you are craving something a bit warmer, more fall in the flavor profile, try the new Super Pretzel Sweet Cinnamon Soft Pretzel.

I don’t know about you but I personally have a bit of a sweet tooth at night. I also love the doughy-ness of a warm soft-pretzel, but if you remember a while back I had written that even though I LOVE these snacks, I hadn’t had one in my recent memory because of my irrational fear of carbs.

Ryan and I started buying the more traditional frozen Super Soft Pretzels, and really liked having those together at night, so when he saw these he was pretty excited about the change.

We both enjoyed the subtle sweet flavor, since you add your own cinnamon sugar, and they were REALLY awesome when combined with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt (remember those Vanilla Bean Healthy Choice Greek Yogurts?! Yup! those are perfect!!!).

Something that also sounded like a fantastic variation for this product was suggested to me by the marketing director of J.J. Snacks; use these pretzels to make french toast!

Simply dip the pretzels into your typical egg, milk, vanilla mixture, sprinkle with the packet of cinnamon sugar, and prepare as you would a regular slice of bread. What an awesome TWIST…literally and figuratively 😉

Maybe that’s what will be on our table this saturday morning…

…And it should probably be on yours too!

Speaking of breakfast…I am headed to have my morning meal with two very important men in my life, and you are probably adding these items to your grocery list, as you read , so please, happy eating and have a healthy, wonderful day!

2 more until the weekend 🙂

14 thoughts on “WIAW: Bravo For Breakfast and Sweet Snackaroos!

  1. Ah I found the regular sized pumpkin bagels but NOT the thins! I almost bought them, but bagels don’t really fill me up so I thought it might be a waste? I did buy the pumpkin spice English muffins and have been topping them with pb and banana for breakfast!

    • I am the same way with bagels!!! I eat a ginormous one and am still hungry!!! the english muffins sound yummy! I will have to keep my eye out for those!

    • well living in central PA you are in luck with the soft pretzels! hit up any of the farmers markets and you get the real deal!!! watching WGAL right now thinking of you 😉

  2. Just like everyone else here, I am jealous you have located those bagel thins! I did find a pumpkin-spiced bread though and that was rather delicious 🙂 I prefer bagels though, so I shall remain on the hunt!
    Amazinggggg job on pushing yourself CJ, I can’t help but smile form ear to ear while reading this! It is tough as we are both well-aware, but do-able and you are workin it lady 🙂

Leave a Reply

