Cookie Monster

Why is it that weekends pass in the blink of an eye??

Is anyone else dragging a bit this monday morning?

Well if you are, I have a recipe for you that might just help put a little pep in your step…

Peanut Butter Protein Cookies

I actually have one packed for my morning snack…and maybe even one in my lunch bag…who’s counting?!

But before we get to the recipe, let me tell you a little story about cookies.

A few years ago when I was in Princeton Hospital; my first inpatient program, they required me have multiple supplements a day.

This could be in the form of Ensure, Clif Bars or some other equivalent the dieticians deemed appropriate on the menus.

I opted for Clif Bars pretty much everytime, until my trays started to suspiciously change with lovely little notes like, “variety is the spice of life.”

Since this was going to be the new norm, some of my friends and I decided to just circle the damn desserts ourselves. At least then we would have companionship during the mealtime struggle, and we could pick something that did sound pretty good.

During this time I became obsessed with cookies.

I think it is the texture and fabulous flavor combinations, but they easily became my favorite sweet treat.

When I got home, and my rigidity around food again increased, cookies were no longer a part of my world, but the memories of their fantasticness taunted me on several occassions.

Saturday I paid a paid a visit to a new friend, and local vendor called Sandi’s Breads (look for a more in-depth spotlight on this awesome lady and her products later this week!) and in a wave of bravery decided to purchase two varieties of her fabulous looking cookies; chocolate chip and peanut butter…best duo ever!

Um, where had these delectable creations been all my life?

I have absolutely been missing out because if this is what non-hospital-cafeteria cookies…what real, honest to goodness, non-diet cookies taste like.. holy s*it, I have not been living.

Sadly her stand does not open again until Friday, but I did a little browsing and decided to make cookies on my own.

Not necessarily the same, but they are still super moist, amazingly yummy and perfect for dunking!

Ok, now to the recipe.

(And for those who are going to criticize WHERE this recipe came from since the website is about health/calorie concious eating….rest assured, I made the LARGER variety, and fully intend on eating Sandi’s asap…and perhaps a cupcake or two since I will be in Philadelphia where they have legit DC Cupcake style bakeries 😉 )

Dashing Dish Peanut Butter Protein Cookies

What You Will Need:

Do It:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line sheet pan with foil, and spray with non-stick spray, (or line with parchment paper).
  • Microwave peanut butter in for 30 seconds, or until softened.
  • In a medium bowl, mix together the first four ingredients until smooth.
  • In a separate bowl, mix together the rest of the dry ingredients. Combine the wet and dry ingredients together.
  • Roll the cookie dough into 12 rounds and bake in oven for 8-10 minutes.

And most important…

ENJOY 🙂
If these don’t make you smile on a Monday, I really don’t know what will!
10 thoughts on “Cookie Monster

  1. Mmm yay for cookies! I totally understand being obsessed with them when you are finally allowing your self to have one. I haven’t enjoyed a legit cookie in far too long.. yes I have eaten them, but not clear of the guilt. I would so love to get the heck over that and like them once again. Great recipe CJ, I could definitely enjoy these ones 🙂

    • These really did turn out wonderfully! and even though they have peanut butter (which was something I used to think of as so scary) all the ingredients are healthy and delicious. Plus a nice sweet treat is good for the soul! overall wellness 😉

Leave a Reply

