WIAW Welcome Fall and Closing Out The Summer

There is no lengthy intro required for my somewhat typical Wednesday ramblings.

Thanks to Jenn over at Peas and Crayons I am sure you are relatively used to my various themes that show you new products I love, recipes I have made, etc. But for your viewing pleasure, do visit her site and get some inspiration for your weekly menu! There are plenty of bloggers who do a much better job at photographing and constructing dishes that are worthy of being on the Food Network.

Me? I stick with simplicity and my i-phone camera since I am still going through the ginormous legal battle that ensued after our house was robbed in February…my precious little Kodak included.

Anyway, let’s get to the fun stuff!!

For the past two days, when I flipped on the news for my normal “get-ready-for-school” routine, the weatherman reported temperatures that did not even hit 50 degrees.

To me that means it is fall and I am thrilled!

I love summer, but autumn has always been my favorite season; probably because I adore the crisp, clean air, the foliage that begins to change into an array of beatuiful colors, sweaters, boots, and the smells that fill the house (Yankee Candle helps me out with this…Apple Pie! YUM!).

This also means my food preferences change from cold items to things that warm the tummy.

The morning is the first place I have switched up from my completely cold yogurt and fruit concoctions to very satisfying bowls of warm oats, and a few other experimentations I will hopefully be able to perfect and share in the upcoming weeks as you may be looking for new ideas with the lower temps.

PLUS…

…I believe this little coaster I got at HLS two years ago is one hundred percent true!

I love breakfast and I ALWAYS schedule half an hour for me to enjoy my a.m. meal, coffee and WGAL before I head to my office and have to deal with 9085868468 requests, a computer and numbers, all day long.

Lately I am ecstatic to be sipping my new Pumpkin Spice K-Cups, but what is giving that glorious beverage a run for its money is the [first of hopefully many] new concoction I like to call Protein In A Pan.

In an effort to amp up my protein intake in the morning (it reduces swelling, you know and builds good strong muscle!!) I have tried to get AT LEAST 30 grams per meal, and AT LEAST 15 for snacks.

In the past few weeks I done some stovetop testing by making protein pancakes, french toast, and oatmeal, but when I was deliriously scavenging through my bread cabinet and found no source of carbs I improvised.

Protein In A Pan

Ingredients:

  • Liquid Egg Whites
  • 2 Scoops Sunwarrior Vanilla
  • Cinnamon
  • Cho! (Any flavor will do because they are all delicious πŸ™‚ ) <—I know I said I was done with the yogurt and fruit, but really, who was I kidding? I need my Chobani fix!!!
  • Fruit (CSA Plums! Yum!!!)
  • Crushed Nuts, Nut Butter, etc.

Do It Yourself

  • Mix the first three ingredients in a bowl (mine are pretty liquidy)
  • Pray a pan with some non-stick spray and let it heat up a bit.
  • Pour mixture in the pan and let it cook thoroughly.
  • Top with your favorite things (Cho, fruit, crushed nuts, nut butter…ENDLESS possibilities!)

Enjoy πŸ™‚

(PS I totally meant to snap a photo but obviously my stomach wanted breakfast before I even thought about it!)

Since it is coming into fall I think this would be even more fabulous with some fresh apple butter, baked apples or that delectable Fresh-A-Peel Pumpkin Hummus I love so much!

I think you all get the point that I have a minor obsession with pumpkin…

AND since the cooler weathers also make me crave soup like no other, why not combine my passion for the aforementioned veggie and my crockpot and make some delicious pumpkin chili.

I actually posted the recipe last year so if you are interested, please check out my previous entry.

It is as delicious now as it was back then πŸ™‚

Switching gears a little bit, I will acknowledge that despite my love for all things fall, I technically have a few more weeks until the calendar makes it official, and what better way to wrap up the summer than with a picnic full of fun, food and family.

A few weeks ago I posted a picture of a dessert I was making for the Weaber Labor Day extravaganza and got pretty many “likes” and inquisitions for the recipe.

I wanted to post this way back then, but truthfully kind of forgot until I found a lone little treat sitting in Tupperware on my sister’s bedroom shelf (ew?!)

Anyway, my love of sweet and salty items, plus a pantry full of stuff I was looking to use up, prompted me to search for a recipe that the million kids attending my in-law’s event would love, and that would easily transport.

I was already making another dessert per Ryan’s request, but wanted to do something a little different.

Rice Krispie Treats with sprinkles? No…kind of boring.

After a few minutes of thinking I changed my mind. Krispie Treats might be boring, but they are still amazingly delicious, and I knew JUST how to make them better.

Peanut Butter Pretzel, Chocolate Covered Krispies

Is there anything in that title that does not make you want to eat them right away?!

I am going to admit to you right now I did not measure a darn thing I put into this particular batch, which is why I am pointing you to a more “professional” recipe here.

What I did do a little differently, was add more butter to smooth out the chocolate for the frosting, and incorporate chocolate chips into the Krispie Treat base, as well.

If you need further clarification feel free to e-mail me, but I will tell you any combination of these ingredients will be pretty much fantastic.

I hope you all are having fabulous weeks! Only three more full work days until the weekend!

Happy eating πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “WIAW Welcome Fall and Closing Out The Summer

Leave a Reply

