Out Of The Box And A Fantastic Friday Giveaway!

I did it.

I tried yoga.

This may not sound like any significant feat but this is coming from the girl who said she would NEVER do yoga.

“It looks boring, my mind will never be able to shut off and actually get any benefit; it is not even a work out just a waste of time…”

I said all those things and more for as long as I can remember, even though every therapist, treatment center and friend has tried to get me to a class.

A few months ago I did kind of get the itch to make an attempt but the new thing that held me back was fear.

Shocker, right? Me…SCARED?!

I was so concerned that I would look like a fool that I avoided even the sessions where I knew the instructor, but I started reflecting upon past experiences; particularly ones where I was initially terrified, and realized none of those instances turned out so bad so perhaps yoga would be similar.

I have probably explained the cross-country ski story before, when my husband and I took our first getaway together, alone.

Neither of us had ever cross-country skied but we were in an old castle, where activities were included and the weekend we were there the mountain got hammered with snow.

Beautiful, fresh powder just waiting to be explored.

We did a group snow-shoe tour and thought it was ok, but not nearly as exhilarating as our bodies wanted, so Ryan suggested we grab 2 pair of skies.

Uh…

I was hesitant and wanted to say no at first, but since I obviously wanted to win his heart, the word, “SURE!” came out of my mouth before I even knew what I was doing.

After a few falls, you couldn’t part us from our new favorite winter sport. We spent HOURS on the trails taking in the scenery and just enjoying being together.

It was absolutely fabulous and one of our favorite memories of all time.

I tried to channel that experience when I asked my friend Brielle if she minded me coming along to her yoga studio.

I have to admit I was pretty excited all day.

I was stepping out of my box, which always makes me somewhat proud of myself, and I was getting to do it with someone I really like to be around.

The ninety minute aspect of the class intimidated me, but hey, I can do anything I put my mind to, and that is exactly what I did.

I tried to focus on my breathing, concentrate on correct form, and ultimately just BE.

I’ll tell you honestly, even thought the teacher asked us to look at ourselves in the mirror or use a reference point based on our reflection, I couldn’t do it.

I have a hard time with mirrors and I just couldn’t stare directly at my physique without looking away almost instantaneously.

Perhaps that’s my goal for next class because between that and actually lying still on my back, I found those components the MOST challenging of the entire hour and a half.

Overall the experience was fantastic; between the instructor being gentle, helpful and engaging, the studio having a very inviting feeling, spending time with a friend and actually FEELING my body rather than trying to completely disassociate from it, I definitely want to try it again.

Maybe even this weekend since my pass is good for 7 days 🙂

When I got home I was pretty darn exhausted, NEEDED a shower in the worst possible way, and was actually excited about snack.

Why?! Because I had ONE more Gnu Bar left and I threw it in the freezer before I left to enjoy with a little frozen Vanilla Chobani.

Peanut Butter Gnu, frozen Vanilla Cho mixed with some unsweetened vanilla Silk.

Yup, that is the snack of champions!

And guess what!?!

YOU CAN HAVE THAT SAME SNACK TOO!!!!

Ok well, I can give you the opportunity to have 1/3 of that snack, at least 😉

My awesome friends at Gnu foods would like to provide one of my readers with a 16 pack of their delectable bars!

All you have to do is:

“Like” Gnu Foods on Facebook.

Post a comment stating WHICH type of Gnu Bar you would most like to try. (This is a seriously tough question, I know!)

Gnu will then send the randomly selected winner their prize of which flavor they mentioned in their entry.

Easy, peasy, right?!

Winner will be announced next Wednesday during the WIAW post, so hurry up and enter!!!

Thank you Gnu for being such an awesome company!

Happy Friday, Friends!!!

41 thoughts on “Out Of The Box And A Fantastic Friday Giveaway!

  1. Oh man this is a HARD question LOL! I LOVE Gnu Bars, too. I haven’t had any of the new flavors.. but if I had to choose just one, it would prob be to try the new Blondie!
    Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

  2. Oh man this is a HARD question LOL! I LOVE Gnu Bars, too. I haven’t had any of the new flavors.. but if I had to choose just one, it would prob be to try the new Blondie!
    Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

  3. Hi CJ! Until you started posting about GNU bars, I thought they only had chocolate brownie and banana nut bread!!! I am OBSESSED with these bars and am just dying to try the carrot cake flavor and the oatmeal raisin. They are soo expensive though so a sampler pack would be lovely 🙂

  4. THESE LOOK FANTASTIC! every time i have gone to look for them after you wrote about them they are always out. The cinnamon raisin look awesome!

  5. So glad that you gave yoga a try! If you really focus your thoughts and don’t analyze what you’re doing, it can center you and make you appreciative of your strength!! Good luck with all the boys this weekend 🙂

  6. I woud love to try the blondie! Blondie bars are my favorite and remind me so much of being a kid and baking with my dad!

  7. These look so good! I definitely FB Liked them. I’ve not had the chance to try any, but seeing as I loooooove Carrot Cake everything, that’s the flavour I’d like to try the most.
    mmmm

    A.

  8. I’ve always wanted to get into yoga, but like you I’m scared I’ll look really silly until I get the hang of it. I really should just get our there & DO IT!

    I “like” Gnu bars on facebook, & I think the carrot cake flavor sounds awesome!

  9. First…. I love you and miss you terribly…
    Second…call me/e-mail me whenever (aka soon)
    Third… I want to say the blondie but being the pb addict I am I feel like it would be sacreligious not to say peanut butter 😉

  10. Glad you tried yoga! And fyi youtube has a gabazillion videos for some free at home yoga action.
    Awesome giveaway! I liked gnu on facebook

  11. Yoga is so great,I’m really excited you’ve tried it as well now! 🙂 Before I started to practice,I always thought yoga “was not a form of exercise”… Ha! Little did I know how GOOD it makes you feel,and how challenging it can be,too!
    Anyhoo,great giveaway! I already like Gnu foods on Facebook 🙂

  12. Hi there, first time reader. I liked Gnu bars on facebook and I think I’d love to try the banana walnut flavour.
    I love that you have tried yoga. I’ve just started pilates which I also thought was not exercise and boy is it sure exercise – it really works my body, muscles I didn’t know I had. I’ve just started back at ballet too, after 15 years! It really makes you feel so good feeling how your body comes alive and moves and stretches, doesn’t it? Reminds me of when what my body could DO was more important, before all that ED stuff took over. Hope some day it’s like that, again 🙂

  13. What an awesome giveaway!!!!! I’ve never had any GNU bars before, but the Blondie flavor looks great!!!! On a more important note, CONGRATULATIONS on all of your hard work and effort in fighting ED! Over the past 2 weeks, I’ve see your spirit shine brighter and brighter as you experience more victories against ED! Keep it up — your motivation and determination is great!! Excited to read how Yoga can help your body, mind, and spirit as well! Have a wonderful weekend and take care! MC

  14. Hi CJ! I just liked them on Facebook. OK so I was going to say definitely the chocolate brownie, but then I remembered an earlier entry of yours where you said you were hesitant about the Orange Cranberry (but tried it anyway) and it turned out to be great!! i was inspired by your “sometimes you really don’t know how something will be until you try it” line, so heck, I’ll say ORANGE CRANBERRY! =)

  15. Pingback: The Gnu Winner And WIAW Self-Discovery | Healthy, Happy, Whole

Leave a Reply

