WIAW: All About The Quantity

Ryan made an interesting suggestion/request yesterday afternoon when we were catching up on each other’s day, and I was of course complaining about how disgusting I feel pretty much no matter what I do in regards to recovery.

“Write down what you eat, when and why.”

This sounded like those stupid food and mood journals we had to do in treatment and at first I just sort of tuned him out. (Sorry hunni!)

“You might be able to better understand your thoughts if you look back on them later when you are in a different mindset…and maybe when you think about food, or what you want, write down what you are REALLY craving and why you are, or are not, having it.”

The second part of his idea seemed like a really good one.

There are so many times I second guess my decisions, change menu selections at the last minute, decided against what my body is saying it desires, just because of my stupid rules and rituals.

Since I feel my husband is a very smart man, and really, what do I have to lose at this point, I am giving the method a shot.

Today is day one of this practice, so I cannot give you an accurate measure of how it is working, but I am curious to see if this will help or hinder any progress.

Anyway, a large portion of our conversation consisted of my need for MORE; more nutrition, more calories, more ANYTHING, so he asked if there was anything specific I wanted to add to my diet. This could be things I was already enjoying, or challenges I might want to attempt.

What he really wanted to say was, “CJ, what the hell can we keep stocked in our house that would entice you to eat, eat, eat?!”

That is a really easy question for me to answer, actually. Since I tend to go through “craving phases.”

I am sure this is pretty normal for anyone in the world, but I tend to eat the same things for a month straight and then I move onto something new.

Since it is WIAW, it seemed like an appropriate time to share things I really cannot get enough of lately, because maybe you also want to experience these items’s fantastic-ness.

Now I have to tell you, when I say I eat the same things quite frequently, I don’t mean just once a day…. I mean I ate 3 Gnu Bars in less than 24 hours this weekend.

I justified this by telling myself I needed to try EVERY flavor to give an accurate review for you all, so if you have any questions on my opinion, don’t hesitate to ask 😉

Obviously you can tell the little gift from Gnu foods was a hit for me, but I have to express that there is not one flavor that was a disappointment and I am kind of a bar connesiour so you have to trust me on this one.

In fact I would be embarrassed to show you the shelf on which my stash of bars reside in the pantry, because it takes up a serious amount of space.

I often mention my staples; Clif, Luna, Clif Mojo, Z-Bars, Great Harvest Joey Bars, Kashi, etc. but I will DEFINITELY add Gnu to this list.

I LOVE texture and these have the PERFECT ratio of oat to chew.

Not to mention the Banana Walnut tastes like fresh Banana Bread, and who doesn’t want to eat that?!

I even enjoyed the Orange Cranberry, which was the only variety I was a bit hesitant about (just because the combination did not SOUND all that appealing) but my taste buds proved me wrong.

It just goes to show sometimes you really don’t KNOW how something will be until you try it…

…Perhaps I should apply that lesson for other aspects of my life, as well….

Ok, moving on.

The second snack I will also admit sometimes makes an appearance multiple times in a day is Vita Tops.

I started buying these years ago, but my grocery store only carries two types.

When I realized how much more economical it was so order online (they have super awesome deals sometimes!) I started venturing away from the typical Deep Chocolate and Banana Nut and now have tried almost every one.

I must still really like Bananas and Chocolate, however, because the three that are almost always in my virtual cart are Banana Chocolate Chip, Fudgy Peanut Butter Chip, and Triple Chocolate Chunk.

BUT another selection that is absolutely delicious is the Corn.

I don’t know if I have ever actually had real corn bread but if it is anything like the Vita version, I would DEFINITELY enjoy it.

I especially like it with some nut butter!

This might sound like an odd combo, but spread a little dollop on top and you will NOT be let down.

The company is releasing individual pizzas soon and you better believe those are on my list of must-haves!

And speaking of pizza…

I promise you snacks have not been the ONLY thing in my routine. I have actually developed quite a love of wraps lately that is really beyond explanation because I always thought I was fonder of sandwiches due to their utilization of crusty loaves of bread? I guess things change!

(Here is where the pizza comes in, incase you were wondering 😉 )

I remember when I was in college I would buy the Joseph’s Lavash Flax Wraps and make flatbread pizzas for me and my roommates, as a quick dinner after we all got home from our respective practices.

This specific variety was perfect for me because I prefer thin crusts, and they got nice and crunchy even in our old weak oven of the undergrad house.

When I saw them a few weeks ago at Walmart I threw them in my cart thinking I would again use them for my Italian favorite, but one afternoon I broke out the Fourman and made the BEST EVER roasted vegetable, goat cheese, hummus and turkey wrap.

Thanks to the very delicious Trader Joes Goat Cheese Wedges, Tribe Garlic Hummus, a delightful selection from my CSA box and a little peppered turkey, these wraps grilled perfectly; stayed together, made the inside nice and warm and dipped into my favorite mustard and vinegar combo in a way that a Subway sub just cannot compare.

Since then I have created a variety of combinations to throw together and stuff in my Joseph’s; many of which include this…

Have I mentioned I am OBSESSED with all things avocado lately?

I chalk it up to my body screaming out for some healthy fats, but seriously, Wholly Guacamole I don’t know what I would do without you!

The spicy variety has become my favorite salad topper, sandwich spread, dip, etc.

Like the delicious PB Crave I could actually just stick a spoon in the container and eat it plain. (<- I have refrained, but trust me, I am tempted!)

I love the little chunks, popping flavor, and creamy texture it gives to so many things, and as the company suggested via Twitter, since I go through a container every few days, I now have my mom on the look at for it in bulk at Costco.

Other things I was lucky enough to stock up on since my husband so nicely drove me the hour to Trader Joes and Whole Foods are my favorite:

*Trader Joes Blueberry Bran Muffins (perfect for crumbling in yogurt or eating with a glass of Unsweetened Almond Milk!)

*Trader Joes Banana Chocolate Chunk Protein Muffins

*Fresh-A-Peel Blazin Buffalo Hummus (This is my first time trying this particular flavor, but Fresh-A-Peel is some of the BEST hummus I have ever had…pumpkin hummus, YES PLEASE!!!)

*Trader Joes Light Kettlecorn (Awesome for those sweet and salty attacks I sometimes get at work!… or always!)

None of these are completely new to my kitchen this week, but as I mentioned in the beginning of this post, whatever it takes to get me to eat MORE, is what I am going to try.

I personally like to feel good and enjoy what I am putting in my body, while tossing in a few challenging items to combat my ED categorization of food as good and bad. And maybe this is grasping at straws but both Ryan and I are trying everything we can to make our lives better; which can only happen if I put into action positive recovery strategies.

And with that, breakfast…

You all remember this don’t you 😉

11 thoughts on “WIAW: All About The Quantity

  1. My therapist actually has me do the same thing with my food intake. I write what i ate, how much, what I am feeling, if I used any distractions, behaviours, etc. Its hard to do at first, but I’ve actually found it pretty helpful for the most part. I definitely go through those phases as well! I crave something for a long time and then move onto something completely different a couple months later. I also have been obsessed with anything avocado lately! I’ve had it with dinner like every night for the past 3 weeks, its so darn good

    • Avocado is so good for hair and skin!! Which is what I am hoping will prevent my hair from continuing to fall out. At least that’s what I keep telling my brain and wallet when I buy so much guacamole 🙂

  2. Great post CJ! Mmm all of these products look amazing! I love Gnu Bars…so much fiber! Hummus is definitely one of those things I keep stocked up on because I know I will always eat it…as well as sweet potatoes, avocado, and tempeh-great sources of calories! The PB Crave sounds to die for!

  3. Thank you for the explanation and thoughts on all of these different food products, very much appreciated 🙂 I love Vita tops too, but have never tried the corn one, so I will be sure to look out for that kind! I know I would like it with nut butter too, yes it sounds odd like you said, but I think we have very similar taste buds. Oh and regarding that PB… you should just stick a spoon and say the “hell with it!” and eat some just like that! Trust me, tastes and FEELS awesome!

  4. Pingback: WIAW: Snacking spree! And some catching up « Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Foodiness

  5. I am glad you’ve been enjoying so many different foods lately,that’s awesome,CJ! I really hope you’ll keep challenging your ED and allow yourself to eat what you really crave,because girl,you deserve it – trust me,you do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

