Wild Harvest Organics Breakfast Showdown!

It is no secret breakfast is my FAVORITE meal of the day.

My husband and I even make more morning themed entrees for dinner on occassion because we both LOVE a good batch of waffles, french toast or a decadent and flavorful omelette.

When I decided I was going to attend the Healthy Living Summit this year, I was super excited to see one of the sponsors, Wild Harvest Organics, was kicking things off with a “Breakfast Showdown.”

Not really knowing what this entailed I clicked the tab that entered me to participate and didn’t think much of it.

Until this came to my door…

Um? What was all this?

It was a box FULL of some seriously awesome Wild Harvest products, that’s what!

And then I read the rules…

Out of all that was provided we needed to use AT LEAST 3 items to create a recipe that could potentially be served at an HLS breakfast…

Well the mix was pretty varied.

*Peach Mango Salsa

*Black Beans

*Coupon for Eggs

*Cayenne Pepper

*Ground Ginger

*Raisins

*Applesauce

*Peanut Butter

*Cherry Vanilla Granola

*Animal Crackers

I felt like I was placed in an episode of The Food Network’s Chopped!

And of course I thought for days which direction I wanted to go in; either sweet or savory, but then one morning, as I was eating my Peachy Summer Sammy, it kind of dawned on me that I was totally over-analyzing the situation.

On most days I don’t have an abundance of time to prepare an elaborate a.m. meal, but I still want quality fuel that I enjoy.

I typically prefer sweeter tastes and as much as I love some peach-mango salsa and could absolutely see it as a topping to a Mexican inspired egg dish, summer to me means fruity and a bit more whimsical.

So I went with what I knew best and combined some of my favorites to make these:

His

Hers

Fruit Filled Stuffed French Toast Stack

What You Will Need:

(For the His and Her Servings Seen Above)

From The Wild Harvest Box:

  • Eggs (Optional)
  • 2 tbsp Raisins
  • 1/4 cup Applesauce
  • 1-2 tbsp Peanut Butter
  • Cherry Vanilla Granola

Additional Items:

  • Milk (Optional)
  • Cinnamon
  • Vanilla (Optional)
  • Sugar (Optional)
  • 6 oz. Plain Greek Yogurt
  • Fresh Fruit of choice (I used peaches and strawberries)
  • Syrup (Optional)
  • Bagel, Bagel Thin, English Muffin, or some other source of grain you prefer

Directions:

  1. My husband loves a good traditional french toast so I prepared a Thomas Blueberry Bagel as I would any normal french toast morning…dipped in a mixture of egg, vanilla, sugar, milk and cinnamon.
  2. While that soaked I mixed together the plain greek yogurt, applesauce, peanut butter, raisins, and cinnamon to make a filling.
  3. I then cooked up his bagelicious french toast on the stove and chopped up some fresh fruit for extra nutrition.
  4. When the bagel was finished I placed one half on the plate and spread with a generous portion of the WARMED UP (microwaved for thirty seconds) applesauce combination.
  5. Then I piled on the fruit.
  6. Finally added the second half of the bagel.
  7. Now a teeny bit more of the spread so the granola would stick.
  8. And a generous handful of the Cherry-Vanilla Granola.

Ryan of course added a bunch of syrup and a side of cold milk.

Perfect for fueling a 12 hour day in the ICU 🙂

Since I had a more leisurely morning in store, and a lunch outing with my sister, I went a bit lighter, opting not to batter my blueberry bagel thin, but toasting it instead.

I repeated the same process I followed for Ryan and layered the delicious applesauce, yogurt, peanut butter, raisin and cinnamon spread, fresh fruit, second portion of the bagel thin, more cinnamon, granola and some syrup.

Delicious and amazingly satisfying!

This is not ultra-complicated and could easily be replicated even on a work morning.

(In fact, it is already on the schedule for a few hours from now 🙂 )

The spread can be prepared the night before, placed in the fridge and simply heated before using.

I actually made some right after breakfast was through yesterday, and had it as a snack with apple slices for a little dippage.

It was just as good sans bread 🙂

…Even spoon worthy if you want the truth 😉

So thank you Wild Harvest for this wonderful opportunity!

It was a lot of fun to not only get in the kitchen and switch things up, but also learn more about your brand that has such a great premise, as well as flavor.

I cannot wait to meet you at HLS!

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday.

NOW GO MAKE BREAKFAST!

5 thoughts on “Wild Harvest Organics Breakfast Showdown!

  1. I’ve been a reader now for about 8 months. I rarely comment – and I hate my first comment to be somewhat negative – but I know that during my years of anorexia, it helped to hear things over and over again (not that I liked it at the time!). I cringed when I read your sentence, “Since I had a more leisurely morning in store, and a lunch outing with my sister, I went a bit lighter, opting not to batter my blueberry bagel thin, but toasting it instead.” That is your illness talking! In my mind, it should have gone like this: “Since I am dangerously underweight and trying to recover, I opted to have double the amount my husband had.” You are clearly a wonderful woman – please take the leap of faith so that more people can enjoy the fuller you 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your comment Elizabeth! I dont take it negatively, just as concern and trying to help me see that Ed is still very much present in a lot of my desicions. Thank you for reading, and thank you for your kindess 🙂

Leave a Reply

