Taking Time To Remember…Short and Sweet

Happy Memorial Day!  I hope you all are having a stellar holiday, perhaps an extra day off, and the same beautiful weather we are having in central PA.

This time of year always means one thing to me, and that is Lindsay’s birthday, since it always falls over the extended weekend and we spend the majority of the time celebrating, but this day is also significant for another VERY important reason; to commemorate and appreciate the sacrifices of our servicemen and women.

My first job out of college was working at our local VA hospital, and although Human Resources did not turn out to be the career for me, I learned MUCH more than the process of hiring and firing.

I got to meet some of the most courageous, honorable and upstanding citizens I have ever encountered, and my favorite days to go to work were always when we helped host outside events (luncheons, awards ceremonies, etc.) to recognize the efforts of our armed forces.

Although I had a pretty horrific weekend on the ED front, I want to save that garbage for another time (sorry guys, you are totally stuck with my whiny ramblings about that tomorrow 😦 )and instead focus on the freedoms and life I have because of our troops.

I hope you can all take the time to at least thank someone in uniform, count your blessings and reflect on gratitude, no matter how difficult a time you might be having.

Who knows, remembering what you have to be thankful for might even turn that frown upside down 🙂

Today I am VERY grateful for those who serve and protect, because like I said, without their bravery, I wouldn’t have the LIFE I am trying to gain back, every single day, and all the blessings God has been generous enough to give my family and I.

Happy Memorial Day everyone!

…And Happy Birthday Little Sister, I love you so much!

Leave a Reply

