Snacktastic WIAW!

Another Wednesday has arrived and I am sure you all know what is coming….

WIAW, of course! The weekly tradition that the fabulous Jenn created to unite the blog world with new food finds, inspiration and deliciousness.

Now I know I have mentioned this before, but I was recently reading on Gwyneth’s Forum that a lot of people are triggered by the routine posts of many “healthy living” bloggers who photograph their meals and display them for all to see.

I have to admit I fall into this category too…I see the tiniest breakfast bowls of oats and think “holy shmoly that is like a side dish to my a.m. meal!!” but then I remember…

a. my meal plan, ANY ONE’S meal plan, should be relevant to the INDIVIDUAL. We all have different needs, likes, and hunger cues, so although I like oatmeal, I could not eat it every single day as some seem to do.

This may come as a surprise, but breakfast variety kind of makes my morning.

b. most people probably do not show you all they consume. Julie did a really nice job explaining this on her blog a while back, and I thought it might be helpful to direct you to her after I read the thread the other evening about comparison and the shame that sometimes comes with it.

I think about it like this….it used to take me forever to log every single item into my stupid myfitnesspal app, because I HAD to be very precise…no estimation was going to cut it! But I would imagine it would be similar with photographing all meals and snacks. Wouldn’t that take up a signification amount of time and get seriously annoying?? I think so!

I definitely had to write that for my own sake, as well, because as my menu choices and hunger continues to be higher than ED would like, I find myself shying away from blogs I used to read because it became hard for me to keep the rationalizations I listed above in mind. Why make this battle any more difficult by constantly comparing myself to others, right?! Recovery is enough of a challenge as is!

Ok, now that I got all that off my chest, I do have some really good things I have been incorporating into my days as supplements to my meals…AKA, killer snack combinations!

Spicy Red Lentil Chipotle Hummus/Sweet and Spicy Black Bean Hummus with Raw Veggies (or pretty much anything…heck, I would probably eat it plain!)

When we were in Charlottesville, Sunday morning I woke up to pouring rain and freezing temperatures. Since my rise time is a tad earlier than my husband prefers, and our room was too small for me to move around without disturbing him, I decided to do our weekly grocery trip while we were there.

Harris and Teeter was open 24 hours and we don’t have one locally so I thought it might be fun to have a little adventure.

I am REALLY glad I did this because I was able to find not one, but two amazing flavors of hummus!

This is pretty much always stocked at our house because I eat hummus almost every day. I don’t particularly care for mayonnaise or salad dressing, so in order to get the necessary amount of lunch time fat, I started incorporating the delicious Mediterranean spread.

I haven’t really met a flavor of hummus I didn’t like, but these two are definitely close to the top of my list of favorites.

Back To Nature Sweet Potato and Cinnamon Crackers and Laughing Cow Spreadable Cinnamon Cream Cheese

I have raved about the little cream cheese wedges before, and trust me, they are as good as ever, but I have started pairing them with some “different” items rather than just breads, which actually, almost accentuates the flavor even more.

This may sound odd but spread on a pear, these make a really awesome sweet but savory treat. Of course since I am pretty much obsessed with cinnamon I do still sprinkle a little extra on top just for good measure, but it is quite tasty with or without it.

Despite my affection for the pear-cheese combo, the fruit has recently taken a backseat to these yummy little crackers I found at Walmart.

Normally I don’t shop at that store because I have seen wayyyyy too many documentaries on their unfair business practices, but out of convenience I stopped in to pick up some yogurt and while walking to the dairy case I saw these displayed at the end of the aisle.

The “sweet potato” part of the box absolutely caught my eye, and I had just run out of my Trader Joes crackers so I thought, why not try something new?

They are absolutely fabulous on their own, but for a little something extra I really did enjoy the Laughing Cow accompaniment….FYI the Strawberry flavor is AWESOME!!

Cara Cara Oranges and Plain Greek Yogurt

I adore Chobani Blood Orange. In fact, it rivals the apple-cinnamon or black cherry as my favorite (who am I kidding, I love them all!!!) but the variety I eat the most is plain.

In fact, if you opened my refrigerator on any given day, it would never be without a giant tub of Chobani Plain, which I like so much because of its versatility; the mix-in possibilities are ENDLESS.

And since fruit just doesn’t cut it as a snack alone (is anyone else hungry five minutes after a piece of fruit?!) I always have a little something on the side.

I love anything with nut butter so that is often my preference when it comes to bananas, apples, or pears, but the juicy-ness of this orange coupled with the tang of the yogurt is a really nice fresh taste that reminds me of summer.

These are just a few of the new things that have entered my kitchen this week, but I thought I would share a some other snack ideas, as some of you have e-mailed me inquiring how I have increased my calories…

Graham Crackers and Peanut Butter (or more recently cream cheese!)

Vita Tops with Greek Yogurt

*Sometimes I will put my greek yogurt in the freezer (try this with Vanilla Chocolate Chunk Chobani Champions!) and if you warm up a Chocolate Vita muffin (love the peanut butter fudge) it is kind of like having a sundae. Awesome as a bedtime snack!

Banana, Nut Butter and Honey Sandwich on Cinnamon Raisin Bread (Or C-Ville Crunch if you are lucky 😉 )

*This is one of the biggest fear foods in my life, but I had it nearly everyday when I was inpatient at Princeton. The dietician would actually remove it from my menus because she didn’t think I was getting enough variety. Meanie!

Sweet Potatos and Ketchup and Chili Powder

*Just like a giant French fry!

Utz Sourdough Special Extra Dark Pretzels

Heart Thrives warmed in the microwave and dripped with nut butter!

This is only a small selection of what I really like to snack on, but the combinations or contrast in flavors are great for satisfying cravings and making food fun for me again.

I hope you all have an awesome rest of the week and happy eating!!!

11 thoughts on “Snacktastic WIAW!

  1. I’m definitely triggered by healthy bloggers who photograph their meals. Oatmeal photos get me every time! I usually post everything I ate on a particular day but at the same time I don’t photograph every day to share. Maybe I should consider sharing a less than stellar nutrition day? Maybe not?

    Great read and thanks for the link.

    [Fitness, Health and Happiness]

  2. wow, you opened my eyes to the sweet and spicy black bean hummus and the crackers! i’ve never seen them before!

    I completely agree. Not everyone photographs every single thing they eat. I also hat trouble with myfitnesspal. It’s rough to try and measure out everything.

    • i wish my fitnesspal would no longer exist. it is so tempting and addicting. i have deleted it and redownloaded a million times…hopefully this time it stays permanently away!

  3. Pingback: My very first “What I Ate Wednesday” (Bridal Shower edition!) « Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Foodiness

  4. I also feel triggered by WIAW and other similar posts often too, but i see no reason to hate them! Yes, there are some people who eat too little, but there are also such who eat as much as their body needs. Some people can eat more and stay thin (like me and my mom) and there are others who gain weight quickly. Now i realized that it is awesome that i can eat whatever i want and eating isn’t something dirty to be ashamed of 🙂

Leave a Reply

