Quality Over Quantity

Why is it that the work week seems so long but weekends pass in the blink of an eye?

It didn’t used to be like that for me, when I dreaded the downtime of Saturdays and Sundays, a lack of schedule and a constant stream of negative thoughts that just would not relent.

But this weekend was nice; difficult, but nice.

Friday I actually enjoyed a refreshing twenty-minute nap after school, unplanned but perfect to prepare me for Ryan and my night at the movies.

I have immense trouble going to theaters because I am not good at sitting for an extended period of time, and I never seem to be able to pay full attention when my mind is racing with billions of thoughts.

This Friday, however, we saw Man on a Ledge, and it was fantastic!

I know it didn’t get stellar reviews but I am telling you, Ryan and I sat on the end of our seats for the majority of the film.  It was suspenseful, entertaining and an awesome way to spend an evening.

We both agreed it was one of the best movies we have seen lately, so if you are looking for something to do, I highly recommend it.

Saturday I began my day with some Zumba, got my nails done, and made my way to the grocery store for our weekly trip.  It was conveniently located next to a Target so of course I had to venture through the aisles and spend a bit more than I anticipated.

I really should know better than to ever enter those doors because I cannot seem to go into Target without finding something I “need.”  And this time, I was so excited to FINALLY get my hands on this:

pic.twitter.com/iJQRK8eM

I have tried the new flavors of “adult” CHO (Apple-Cinnamon, whoa, amazing!!!) but I had been DYING to try the Vanilla-Chocolate Chunk Champions.

Just as I suspected, it did not disappoint…but really, does Chobani ever let me down?  Absolutely not.

How could I help myself but to pick up two packs???

Thank goodness I had a coupon!

I came home to spend some time with Ryan before he had to head to work.

He leaves in less than a week for Colorado and we both have a lot on our minds.  We spent the afternoon having a discussion that was insanely difficult and hopefully awakening, but it wasn’t a conversation I was prepared for, or necessarily one hundred percent receptive.

I will definitely be less cryptic later this week, as far as what the discussion entailed, but for now, I am still majorly processing the content.

Sometimes I think my brain has so much information swirling through, it has trouble actually sorting something that is super important.

Hopefully I can become a little more clear, and then a little less vague with all of you.

You have been very helpful lately and sometimes writing is much easier than actually articulating things verbally.  Thank you for these past few weeks of being so supportive.  As I have said before, you will never know how much of an asset you all have been 🙂

After Ryan left for the hospital I had totally planned on cleaning, but that just did not happen.

I spent a very lazy Saturday night, really looking forward to my Sunday. <— Is that weird?!

I did not go to Zumba, but instead opted for an early lunch with one of my very good friends from childhood.

Jill was two years older than me through school, but she and I still had a great relationship and frequently enjoyed casual dinners at the diner in our town. There we would talk about boys, school, friends, family, pretty much anything and everything on our minds.

My friendship with Jill was special because I always looked up to her, trusted, and sought her advice.

She was so beautiful, inside and out, and served as a major role-model throughout my high school years.

When she went to college and we transitioned into adulthood, we didn’t see or talk to each other nearly as much as I would have liked, but a few weeks ago she reached out to me after reading about the immense struggle I was having with myself, and suggested we meet to catch up.

I was so glad she did.  Just seeing her put my mind at ease, and I felt an instantaneous comfort that was so familiar and welcome.

As our outing progressed things just got better; she was a wonderful listener, gave great insight, and as in the past, I was inspired by her strength.

I was so glad to see Jill, and it really was a much-needed way to wrap up my weekend.

I know I am not that adventurous or exciting in my weekend wrap-ups, but one thing I have learned, especially lately, is it is not always the quantity of things we do, but the quality.

…obviously that can be applicable to nearly all things in life…

Low key and filled with loved ones; pretty much the best use of time, ever.

5 thoughts on “Quality Over Quantity

  1. I saw previews for “Man on a Ledge” and thought it looked pretty entertaining. I’m glad to hear that you liked it. I might just go see it myself.

    And I’m glad you had a good visit with your friend Jill. Nothing really compares to friend time!*

    • you have to check it out if you like suspense! i was pleasantly suprised! i saw you had a nice girls day the other day too! arent those mental health days fabulous?!

Leave a Reply

