How Do You Do It?

How do people do it?

How do people exercise, eat right, take care of their families, work, do the household chores and other obligations, and still manage to stay sane?

Typically I pride myself on being good at time management.

I am the queen of lists, absolutely love scratching things off when they get accomplished, and I like being busy, but my gosh lately I am exhausted.

After I come home from work I have minimal motivation to do anything, and could easily go to bed at 8:30.

I try to ignore those feelings and press on, but honestly, I am tired, mentally, physically and emotionally.

The thing I don’t understand is that I have always worked similar hours and at home necessities haven’t really changed so I don’t know what is wrong with me.

Perhaps it is the nature of work I am in, because I know my stress level is sky high right now.

Most people used to think my job in alternative education was difficult, and I didn’t.  I loved it, looked forward to going to work everyday, and I miss the kids terribly.

And don’t get me wrong. I like my new job, but I still don’t know exactly what I am doing because my training was literally only 2 days for a position that everyone tells me needed at least a few weeks of tutorial.

I handle a ton of money, that is not mine, and making a mistake can be pretty detrimental to certain aspects or individuals of the school.

I moved to a complete opposite end of the spectrum career and it is way way way harder than I thought.

I am up to the challenge and am eager to learn, but honestly, I have made so many errors in the past few weeks I just want to crawl in a hole and not come out.

So then I come home, and after dinner sit down to catch up on personal things, and eventually read a few blogs, and I see that all the people I look up to have jobs, kids, exercise, beautiful homes, cook dinners, etc. and they seem happy as clams, with an abundance of time to do fun things!

Is there a secret to this I don’t know about? Because if that is the case, please share.

The sub-title of my blog is more true than ever.  I really am trying to find balance, with all aspects of my life, and every day, although difficult, is absolutely worth it.

11 thoughts on “How Do You Do It?

  1. There’s no secret. Or if there is, it’s a secret from me! Ha! You can’t do it all. You’ll go crazy trying. Sounds like you need to let yourself off the hook for a few days (or weeks) until you are less stressed. Once work settles down, you can put more energy into other areas of your life. Hang in there, Girl!*

  2. After 6 pm, I don’t budge…I eat dinner + a lot of useless tv + racing mind racing mind + HUGE bedtime snack + racing mind and attempt to sleep…

    I MUST be more quiet…turn off the tv and damn computer…but I don’t….I don’t know why…I feel like I’m wasting an opportunity for me to find peace and rest and ease if i’d just let myself sleep + eat + eat only ….no tv and no blogs (i read these damn blogs all the time)..but its like i can’t stop myself

    and im still so so ashamed at how i’m eating…breads with dinner…chocolate as PART of big bedtime snack..when others are so natural and intuitive (even others that gain)…i feel SO WRONG…and i’m stuck in this place…i can’t get out…like all i have is one walk per day on the same cold sidewalk…nothing new…but i’m stuck…i can’t go anywhere or make money or explore until i gain weight…i can’t gain weight cause i’m not intuitive and i keep stuffing myself with crap and i can’t get rid of the depression….ahh..

    just keep eating cj
    u have so so so far to go

    • hunni, you arent stuffing yourself with “crap.” you are nourishing your body with what it is screaming out for and what makes it worse is the judgements you make about the foods. We always want what we “cant” or “shouldnt” have.
      if it makes you feel any better I am having my nighttime snack right now, and it involves chocolate 🙂
      you can totally do this girl. with progress comes a great many things, more movement, a job, socialization.
      you are worth it.

  3. Girl can I be completely honest with you….I know exactly where you are coming from. I use to feel so lifeless and spent each and every single day. I think mental energy is so much more consuming than physical and when you are consumed by worry, anxious thoughts and control, it tears you down. I truly think energy comes from finding purpose in the things we are doing. Even though our jobs may be tiring, if you leave it each day knowing you did it with purpose, it’s just a little easier. Even though managing a family is exhausting, knowing that you do the things you do because you love them makes it all worth it. And the same goes for ourselves. If we are trying to maintain a way of life that we will NEVER achieve because it will NEVER be enough in our own minds, we will quickly burn out. I remember days when I was so tired that I could barely stand up in the shower for 20 min. But again, I fully believe so much of my depleted energy was because I was exerting almost all of it into my unhealthy thoughts and obsessions. Letting go of that was the most freeing thing I’ve ever done.

    • how is it that you know me so well??
      i am having a hard time with some things right now and perhaps thats why i feel so drained. thank you hun for sharing your situation because it sounds very similar to mine. haha maybe there is a reason Josey Mull asked me if we were related. haha she said she thought we looked like we could be sisters!

  4. Remember, things are not always as they seem. I honestly cannot imagine anyone juggling everything you mentioned, and doing it “perfectly” ~ remember, there really is no such thing as “perfect”…..BREATHE!, my friend

  5. Don’t be so hard on yourself… 🙂 If you feel so exhausted, try to gauge exactly what it is that is doing this to you — it seems from what you said the likely culprit is your new position. Maybe try to take an extra break at work or during one of your breaks, do something that helps you relieve some stress or do something completely non-work related… like take a walk around the block while listening to your ipod, or calling up a friend/family member. Little things scattered throughout your day so that you’re not putting work in overdrive — because THAT is when you get burnt out and it’s also when you’re prone to more mistakes! Take it easy… you’ll catch on soon enough, but you can’t be a stress ball while you’re at it 😛

  6. Ohh girly I think it’s just phases. Last month I would zonk out for 10 hours every night and just be EXHAUSTED. I was super stressed at work and just not happy. But this month I’m feeling better, eating better, doing LESS exercise, and needed less sleep! Totally strange, but you’ll get through it and feel better! ❤ you!

Leave a Reply

