Confetti Crab and Conquering A Fear

This weekend has been pretty fabulous because we had no pertinent plans.

Ryan had to work Friday night so I made us dinner, caught up on the DVR, cooked some soup for his lunches next week and just did some random odds and ends around the house that I was procrastinating about, followed by a 9:15 bedtime.

Obviously not some wild and crazy night many 24 year olds would think is fun, but it worked for me and I woke up Saturday feeling rested and ready to go.

Of course I started my Saturday with my usual Zumba class and then made our weekly shopping trip to Wegman’s while Ryan caught up on his sleep.

When I got home and he was awake, we took a nice stroll around the neighborhood to enjoy the abnormally warm weather.

And again, we spent the night in, relaxing and actually spending time together, but what was really fabulous was our night meal.

Normally I keep our grocery budget between $75.00-$100.00 per week, but my husband requested something that brought the total a bit higher; crab.

This all came about because my nutrition appointment the past few weeks has been based on fear foods.

I made a list of the foods I still have yet to even attempt and then we made a little spreadsheet as to how I can conquer these pretty ridiculous negative beliefs I have about these particular items.

One thing on my list is crab cakes.

You see, Ryan and I used to play 2 rounds of golf a week when we were in college.

We would walk 9 holes, with our bags strapped to our backs, and if you haven’t done this, I will tell you it is actually a pretty decent work out, so by the end of our game we would both be starving and so ready for dinner that we would scurry to the club house anxious to order our favorite thing; a crab cake salad.

Our club made the BEST BEST BEST crab cakes in the entire world.

Total crab meat, no filler, and they were broiled not fried.

We actually had them as an entrée at our wedding since we got married at the same venue, and both wanted this for our meal.  Holy shmoly they were a hit!

Anyway, I didn’t even eat one at the damn wedding, and the last crab cake I had was probably my senior year of college after one of our afternoon golf outings.

When we were at trivia a few weeks ago (which is also held at the golf course restaurant) Ryan ordered our favorite salad and when we got home he said, “PUT THAT ON THE LIST!”

I never even considered this as a fear food, but he was right.  If he would have asked me to take a bit I would have definitely turned him down and I would never have considered ordering it myself.

It absolutely should have been put on my list.

So I wrote it down and took it to my nutritionist.

“What is wrong with a crab cake?”  She asked.

“I don’t know what else they put in it.  My gosh there could be mayonnaise, butter, eggs, bread crumbs!”

She then re-framed and told me that most places that are nicer and serve crab cakes, don’t get away with adding a ton of that stuff because they just don’t taste the same, and she was probably right.

From what I remember and what I saw a few weeks ago, these babies are plump with lump meat.  They might have a bit of butter and wet ingredients that are a little scary, to bind them together, but the majority of the portion is meat and the serving size is not too terribly overwhelming.

So I scribbled crab cakes down on my paper and we continued our session.

When Ryan suggested crab Thursday night, as a weekend entrée, I knew what was brewing in his mind.

He wanted to make crab cakes, because as I do with all my food-phobias, I first try them at home, we then try them in take out form, then at a restaurant just the two of us, and then at a restaurant with a group.

This probably sounds silly, but I am definitely a baby steps kind of girl.

I reluctantly agreed to his wish and picked up a small container of Phillips Lump Meat, and the decision was final.  Crab cake salads, it was, for our Saturday night.

I do have to admit, however, that these were not necessarily the most conventional of cakes.  The recipe was pretty stripped down, but we both agreed we loved it because you could really taste the meat of the crustacean, which in my opinion is what you want anyway.

So after a way too long explanation…

CONFETTI CRAB Sort-Of CAKES

(Makes approximately 6-7 cakes)

Ingredients:

  • 1 8 oz container of Jumbo Lump Crab Meat
  • 1 Tsp. Trader Joes Sweet and Spicy Honey Mustard
  • 2 TBSP Liquid Egg Whites
  • ¼ Cup Red Bell Pepper Chopped
  • ¼ Cup Celery Chopped
  • 1/8 Cup of Onion Chopped
  • A bunch of shakes of old bay
  • Parsley Flakes

Directions:

  • Mix all the ingredients together and put into muffin tins, making them as full as you like.
  • Bake in a pre-heated 400 degree convection oven for 10-15 minutes, or until they are slightly brown on the top.

Let them cool and enjoy!

I personally liked mine with a nice big salad, including sliced pears and Newman’s Own Lightened Up Sesame Ginger Dressing, with a bit of horseradish on the side.

Like I said, not your typical crab cake recipe, but I am not a jump-in, full speed ahead, type person.

These brought back positive memories, the reminder of how delicious this type of seafood can be, and perhaps made me more inclined to take the next step and get them as a take-out option sometime in the near future.

You have to do what works for you, and in the past, this has been the best way for my to overcome my rather ridiculous fears.

I hope you all had wonderful weekends!!!

8 thoughts on “Confetti Crab and Conquering A Fear

  1. Oh heavens girl, crab is AMAZING and I’m so glad you’re experiencing it. 🙂 I actually would think crab would be a safe food because it is super super low in fat and calories. (Even more than chicken) Next, you must try crab legs!! Ugh, so good. 🙂

    • I have had crab legs!! The Alaskan are my fave! I think it’s more the “cake” part that was scary but you are so right, so delicious 🙂 hope ur feeling better!!!

Leave a Reply

