A Very Merry Christmas

So remember how the last few weeks I have been kind of “scroogeish?”

Well the last two days have completely turned it all around, which is why, even thought I DID say I would resume regular blogging, I decided to take another few days off and celebrate with my family.

Christmas Eve started fabulously with a Zumba class and lunch with one of my very best friends in the entire world.

Kerry now lives in New Jersey (why is it that everyone I am close to moves there?!) so we don’t get to see or talk to each other as much as I would like, but we have known each other since I was 14 years old and Ryan’s brother actually lived with him in college, so when we do get together its as if time has barely passed.

I love holidays for that reason; friends and family just seem to have way more time for one another, and it definitely makes me smile 🙂

I then spent the rest of the afternoon prepping, cooking and getting a bit dolled up for a massive celebration at my in-laws.

Unfortunately my camera decided to no longer work as I was taking pictures of the ginormous spread Sharon prepared and decorated, so I have no proof of all her hard work, but everything looked so festive and she did a great job at hosting.

There were nearly fifty friends and family all united to welcome Christmas, catch up, and just have an overall AWESOME time.

I have to say, however, the highlight for me was seeing my ENTIRE family sitting together at a table and actually enjoying each other’s company.

See it has been a rocky couple of years for my mom’s side of the family.

I wont necessarily go into details because frankly I don’t really remember why everyone had such animosity toward one another, but I think I mentioned before that most of my relation did not speak for a very long time; no holidays, no social interaction, what-so-ever.

It was actually quite sad and probably a major reason why I was so bitter about thanksgiving and Christmas; thinking none of my relatives would be anywhere near one another and I would either be stressing about how to equally split time between everyone, or miserable because I was dwelling on old memories, but my mom and uncle were absolutely wonderful about getting together and making this weekend very special, and for that, I am eternally grateful.

So the party was great, and I knew our Christmas Brunch that we were having at our house would be nice as well, since again, the ENTIRE clan agreed to be there, but I had no idea what a GREAT celebration we were actually in for…

My mom and I had a very structured plan since brunch was starting at 11 and we had a bunch of cooking still to do, dishes to assemble, set-up to construct AND open all the goodies Santa brought, but I swear time stopped when all of our Christmas’ wishes came true….

MY MOM GOT ENGAGED!

It was a COMPLETE surprise, and I screamed as he presented her with a beautiful symbol of their love.

It set the tone for the entire day, because the food (a few recipes I had never made until today!!—hello French toast casserole and baked oatmeal!) was delicious, everyone got along swimmingly and we laughed the entire afternoon.

I needed this to rekindle my Christmas spirit, and feel SO blessed for my wonderful family and friends who made it all possible.

BEST CHRISTMAS PRESENT EVER 🙂

I hope you had a great weekend, as well!

Merry Merry Merry Merry Christmas!!

8 thoughts on “A Very Merry Christmas

  1. this is so wonderful im glad you are enjoying your time with your family.I prayed to God to help you cheer up a bit after the last few posts and he listened.Again thank you for inspiring me and Merry christmas!dont lose touch

  2. I’m SO glad to hear everything with your family worked out. The holidays are so hectic so for your family to come together and to come together at the holidays… THAT really is something special! Yay for your mom getting engaged, that’s SO cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

