WIAW Williamsburg and Beyond

Guess what day it is?!?! If you have been a reader for a while, or enjoy other blogs, you probably already know it is What I Ate Wednesday!! Brought to us by the fabulous Jenn over at Peas and Crayons, who once every seven days, unites the blog world through eats, treats and new products.

Today I am very excited to share with you a few things I found this weekend while I was away, a recipe that although I did not photograph, turned out to be super fabulous, and a few fear foods I totally conquered.

Without further delay, lets start with an amazing soup that totally hit the spot Sunday night when we returned from our trip.

I have mentioned her website before, but Gina, at Skinnytaste.com, has a TON of delicious and healthy concoctions, I am always ecstatic to prepare.

I have made a variety of her recipes, including meatballs, pumpkin muffins, smoothies, etc. and they have all turned out great!

Since I was jonesing for something comforting and warm, I couldn’t think of a more perfect dinner than her Spaghetti and Meatball Soup.

*THIS PICTURE IS TOTALLY FROM HER SITE…I AM NOT THAT GOOD WITH A CAMERA!

I did change a few things around, but both versions I am sure are wonderful.

Gina’s Meatball and Sunday Spaghetti Soup

Makes about 6 Servings (or 3 if you are Ryan)

Ingredients for the Soup:

  • 5-6 Cups Low Sodium Chicken Broth
  • 2 Cups Water
  • 2 tsp crushed garlic
  • A few shakes of parsley
  • ½ cup onion
  • 3-4 Spoonfuls of tomato sauce
  • A few shakes of crushed red pepper
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Cooked spaghetti squash
  • (or some penne because my husband has not yet gotten on board with the spaghetti squash obsession)
  • Parmesan Cheese

Meatballs:

  • 1 lb 96/4 lean ground beef
  • Lots and lots of garlic and Italian seasoning
  • Enough spaghetti sauce to coat a baking dish and partially cover your balls

Optional :

  • Spinach
  • Broccoli
  • Peppers

Directions:

1. Combine the ingredients for the meatballs in a large dish and then roll them into 16 rounds. Then place then in your “sauced” baking dish and bake them in a pre-heated 350 degree oven.

*This might be a good time to roast your squash too…just cut in half, de-seed and rip out the guts, and bake in the oven until soft…then shred with a fork like spaghetti.

2. Put onions, garlic and perhaps some cooking spray in a pan and let those babies sweat…once the onions are slightly browned add chicken broth, water, tomato sauce, red pepper, salt and pepper and parsley to the liquid and let it simmer.

3. (This step is for those who are making regular pasta) BRING ADDITIONAL POT OF CHICKEN BROTH TO A BOIL AND COOK PASTA AS YOU WOULD NORMALLY…

4. The meatballs should be done in about half an hour, and at this point it is a perfect time to assemble your soup.

-put one cup of broth, a handful of noodles, 2-3 meatballs, a handful of spinach, broccoli and any other veggies you like to your bowl, and then top with some additional crushed red pepper and (if you are Ryan) a ridiculous amount of cheese, and viola!

A delectable Sunday dinner, and Monday lunch!

Who doesn’t love leftovers?!

But while we were away, and I did absolutely none of the cooking, it gave me an opportunity to try some new things, conquer a few challenges, and step WAY out of my comfort zone.

At the farmers market we went to on Saturday, I literally could have bought 6 bags worth of stuff.

Not only did they offer great fresh produce, but there were some homemade products that looked, tasted and sounded, fabulous!

One of the high lights was this:

Fresh Batch Jams Honey Apple Butter

This company is awesome.

In this product especially, the sweetness is only provided by the natural sugar in honey and fruit.

It is so yummy and pure, and amazing when mixed with some plain greek yogurt (what isn’t, really).

I have had it on toast, mixed in with oatmeal, obviously in my favorite yogurt, and it is awesome in all!

They had a ton of other varieties in their selection, which I was thrilled to hear can be ordered online. Check out their website if you are interested, but I am telling you, the Honey Apple Butter is a hit!

I will definitely be serving it at my Christmas brunch.

And then there were these…

White Chocolate Gingerbread Cookie and the Holiday Special Rice Krispie Square

There is a candy store in Williamsburg called Wythe Candy.

It has been tradition in the Weaber family that Ryan gets nonpareil here pretty much every trip.

I walked through the confectionary heaven in July and of course did not even consider that I might want to try some of their treats.

For some reason, this time I was feeling a bit more bold and picked up these two goodies.

Now let me be completely honest with you. I was drawn to these things because they did not come out of the case.

There was a nutrition label. I knew exactly how many calories were in each item. I was “semi-comfortable” with the content, and felt they were appropriately challenging for the holiday season.

I cannot rave about the Gingerbread.

Perhaps I am not a fan of the flavor…I really cannot confirm that because this was my first time trying it, BUT I probably would not purchase this again.

The Krispie Treat, however, OMG.

(I hate to admit I also got this picture from the internet! I was horrible at taking photos this weekend 😦 )

I think it was the sweet coating.

I lie, it ABSOLUTELY, was the coating on the item that made it to die for.

I tried re-creating these darlings at home, but unfortunately they did not compare.

I will keep working on the recipe and get back to you 🙂

And last but not least…

I did not get these IN Williamsburg, but did find them on our adventure in Target while we were waiting for 95 South to re-open.

Butter Toffee Chocolate Covered Pretzels

Honestly, do I need to say anymore?

These are FANTASTIC.

Again, I will say, I probably like them so much because they are unquestionably delicious, but also because they have a label that calms my nerves just slightly.

They are a perfect, festive, dessert, and they might just be in my Target cart again.

I hope you all enjoyed your week of eats!

Any in particular you want to share??? 😉

8 thoughts on “WIAW Williamsburg and Beyond

  1. I am a huge fan of rice crispies and sadly I can’t remember the last time I had it. Over the weekend I had some really good eats. On Saturday I went to a holiday party and had some amazing avocado club rolls and delicious homemade cranberry cookies. At first I was so afraid to eat since it was way pass my normal eating time and because I just didn’t know anything about the food ( calories,fat etc). Regardless I did eat it and it was worth it ! I am so proud of your accomplishments and p.s your soup looks great!

  2. I enjoyed Little Debbie Christmas trees which I had not had since I was a little kid! I even kept the box in my house with no anxiety and enjoyed them as I pleased. Hope all is well. Just starting in on my blog so would love to hear your suggestions!

  3. I understand what your hubby is saying about the squash stuff…my sister (major eating issues) only eats that and says she doesn’t “like” pasta…but she’s also skin and bones and obsessed with food…so…

    but anyway, hope u are well..

Leave a Reply

