I’ll Be Home For Christmas

This weekend was pretty awesome.

Friday Ryan and I both got off work and were exhausted, so because self-care can also sometimes mean relaxation, we decided to catch up on some DVR, spend time together and call it a relatively early night.

In my opinion, Top Chef and my bed are sometimes the perfect ways to wrap up a week. I would vote for that over sitting on a bar stool or a loud crowded restaurant, any time.

Saturday, however, we definitely made use of a day off and got some things DONE, but had an awesome time while doing it.

I started the day with a little Zumba, which is an amazing way to get energized and wake up when it is 20 some degrees outside and you know you have a pretty big to-do list ahead of you.

First we ventured to the King of Prussia Mall, which if you have not been there is pretty much a shopper’s mecca.

They have almost any store you can imagine,from 5 Below, to Chanel,and at Christmas time, it just has an atmosphere that I cannot describe.

While Ryan and I were sitting,eating a quick-lunch at their inner-mall bistro (aka food court…a Tuscan plaza just seems a little too good to actually call a “food court”) we were listening to the songs, watching all the customers and smelling the delicious aroma of the kettle corn and candies being made directly below us at Santa’s village.

It totally put us in the holiday spirit and after finishing my last few bites of mango and cajun chicken salad, we did some serious shopping damage.

Literally everyone on our list is accounted for and that is pretty darn impressive for us in early December.

We then did a loop to Trader Joes, Great Harvest, Whole Foods and BJ’s since they are all relatively close to one another, and stocked up for the week, making one final stop at Cosi for a little soup, salad, and bread, on our way home.

It was such a wonderful day, just Ryan and I, that was much-needed after a few hectic weeks at work and not so much time together.

Today was also fabulous,with two sweaty hours of Zumba, and lunch with some of the coolest ladies I know.

We ate, laughed and got to know one another a little better, and just overall had a wonderful time.

As I have told you all many times, Zumba is a great workout, but the best part about it is the relationships I have formed with others and myself. I have made a ton of friends, gained a bit of self-confidence and started actually ENJOYING exercise rather than seeing it as an obligation.

Rounding out my Sunday was some cleaning, some Christmas music and typical family movies that I expect to see from now until the holidays are through. Who doesn’t love those old claymation Rudolph films?!

But anyway, the biggest reason why this weekend was so spectacular is because of the date.

The past two years I was admitted to the hospital the first week of December.

Last year, specifically on December 2nd,and it was at a facility not 10 miles from the King of Prussia Mall.

As we were driving down the turnpike we were both quiet and I looked over at Ryan and asked what he wanted for the holidays.

Usually we don’t get each other gifts but this year I did buy him something he needed for an upcoming trip to visit his brother, but he already knows about it so I really was hoping he would give me some more ideas of stuff I could actually put under the tree.

“I have everything I really need,” he said.

But I pressed him, “Well isn’t there anything you WANT?”

He looked back at me and it was as if we were both thinking the same thing.

Perhaps it was because we passed the exit we got off to go to Brandywine Hospital, but I finally said,

“You’re right. There really isn’t anything to ask for.”

I am home, and I am here to stay.

Merry Christmas…even if it is a few weeks away 🙂

10 thoughts on “I’ll Be Home For Christmas

  1. your husband is adorable but quite honest too.You being home for christmas is probably the greatest gift he could have.I am also happy to be finally with a different mindset for christmas with less of the ed.I still struggle so much and pray to the lord to help me get through it.I also love zumba and totally agree with what you say…its a fun way to meet new people and the positive vibe you get after a session is priceless.hope you have a wonderful evening.

  2. All I have to say is YAAAAAY<3
    Oh, and that I LOVE YOU.
    Oh and maybe one more thing, YOU ARE AWESOME. I am so proud of your hard work, it shows so much strength and beauty!

  3. we must meet at KOP one time but maybeeee after the holiday season so its not absurdly crowded haha! but i am so happy you are home for the holidays 🙂 you are amazing girl! All your hard work is paying off 🙂 yayaya

  4. I still can’t believe that we were on the exact same route yesterday. I am IN LOVE with Ardmour and Wayne and seriously can not wait to go back. There are so many places I want to go back that I missed. Sweet Tomatoes? All of the self-serve fro yo places. I about died. 🙂

    I am so happy that this Christmas is going to be so wonderful for you both. ❤ you!

Leave a Reply

