WIAW: The Non-Traditional Thanksgiving and A Few Days Off

I love that I am two days into the work week, and it is already half way over! Doesn’t a monday off just make the week seem so much more speedy?!

But in addition to the more rapid office hours, it is also time for another fabulous rendition of WHAT I ATE WEDNESDAY!

For those of you who do not know, this tradition was created by the fantastic female over at Peas and Crayons, Jenn, who united the blog world by encouraging us to share our eats, in order to provide and get some inspiration.

As always, thank you for the wonderful idea, and the union of a community!

And now onto the exciting stuff! THE FOOD!

I have told you a few dozen times that my Thanksgiving was a bit different from most because we celebrated on various days rather than the traditional Thursday meal.

Wednesday night we enjoyed a nice,relatively conventional, feast at my in-laws home, which for this year, I only provided a side dish and two desserts.

Our time at my mom’s was nothing at all like a “normal” Turkey time, but more a Mexican Extravaganza, an ice cream bar with all the fixings and a few meals out.

Although I won’t bore you with every single morsel that went into my mouth, I will show you a few of the highlites that I feel are noteworthy.

Easiest Ever Roasted Veggies

In my mix: Yams, baby carrots, asparagus, broccoli, and green beans, sprinkled with some salt and pepper and roasted in the convection oven, 350-400 degrees, until browned (turn a few times), approximately 45 minutes.

That doesn’t even warrant and actual “recipe” because honestly, I change it up every time. Whatever I have in my produce drawer gets thrown into the roasting pan, but these are a few of my favorites.

The sky is the limit, but the important thing is, any combination is nutritious, and delicious!

And then with the left-overs I made this…

Same thing as above, just with an Alfresco Chicken Sausage (SPICY JALEPENO YUM!!!) chopped up, grilled on my grill-pan and tossed in the mix.

I added some ketchup on the side for dipping and it was AMAZING!

And what is dinner without a little “homemade” dessert.

The Most Moist Pumpkin Munchies with Pumpkin Cream Cheese Icing

I completely stole this recipe from Skinnytaste.

Have you ever visited that website?

Not that I condone eating all diet foods, but she has some great lightened up dishes that are quick, easy and crowd-pleasing! Take a peak for some new ideas. I promise it will not disappoint!

And my last dish I made for Thanksgiving, is a Ryan Weaber favorite.

He asks me to make this every, single, special occasion, and although Kraft likes to call it the Peanut Butter Striped Delight, in our household it is simply called;

The Bangin’ Dessert

Ingredients:

  • 35 OREO Cookies, finely crushed (about 3 cups)
  • 1 Stick of Butter
  • 1 pkg. (8 oz.) Cream Cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 cups plus 2 Tbsp. cold milk, divided
  • 1 tub (8 oz.) COOL WHIP Whipped Topping, thawed, divided
  • 2 pkg. Vanilla Flavor Instant Pudding
  • 1/2 Cup Peanut Butter

Optional Ideas:

  • Instead of Oreos use Chocolate Chip Cookies to make a crust
  • Crush up Peanut Butter Cups, Snicker, or Heath Bars, on top rather than other Oreo Crumbs
  • Pair it with Ice Cream for a super decadent, even more “bangin'” desert, as Ryan says.

Directions:

MIX cookie crumbs and butter; press onto bottom of 13×9-inch dish. Refrigerate 10 min. Meanwhile, beat cream cheese, sugar and 2 Tbsp. milk with mixer until well blended. Add 1-1/4 cups COOL WHIP; mix well. Spread over crust.

BEAT pudding mixes and remaining milk in large bowl with whisk 2 min. Add peanut butter; mix well. Spread over cream cheese layer. Let stand 5 min. or until thickened. Cover with remaining COOL WHIP.

REFRIGERATE a minimum of 4 hours before serving.

Watch everyone’s faces light up as they eat! As well as smile when you have a slice too, of course!

But these two sweet treats I could take or leave….

THIS, however, I seriously wanted to down the whole container.

Trader Joes Frozen Yogurt Pleasantly Tart

Anytime I go to a self-serve frozen establishment, the base of my concoction is always tart.

I mix in other flavors, but for some reason the tang and creamy sensation tart gives me, is just the best. So when my mom asked if I would pick up some ice cream for a “make-your-own” sundae bar after dinner, this had to be in my cart.

Topped with some fresh pineapple, strawberries and a White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Clif Mini chunked up, omg I was in heaven.

Obviously I was very fortunate to have such a fabulous array of eats this long weekend, but the best meal I had was Monday afternoon.

Not because of the meal (although it was delicious) but because of who was sitting across from me.

Even though Lauren and I have only known each other a few months, she has become such a significant influence in my life. She is an amazing friend, positive mentor, and a blast to hang out with.

So between this:

Honey-Lime Chicken, Raisins, Cashews, Apples and Mixed Greens

…and a very nice, encouraging, conversation, Monday’s lunch was extra-ordinary!

I hope you enjoyed a few of my favorite dishes!

Happy Hump Day and remember, the weekend is just around the corner!!!

8 thoughts on “WIAW: The Non-Traditional Thanksgiving and A Few Days Off

  1. Okay, let’s first talk about how good those pumpkin muffins look!! I’ve had a HUGE craving for pumpkin bread but now I think I would rather just attempt to make these little gems. I’ll have to check out the recipe to see if it’s something I think I could handle (remember my baking inability. 😉

    Girl, I had such a good time on Monday. I can’t wait for our next meet up. ❤ you, adore you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

