Happy Thanksgiving!

I cannot believe today is Thanksgiving!!!!

Where the heck has this year gone?

We celebrate a little differently in our family because Ryan has a job that does not shut down for anything, and so he works most holidays, which just means we shift around plans here and there so we still get to participate in some of the traditions we all know and love.

Last night we celebrated with his family, so after I got home from work we headed straight over to his parents for the usual Turkey and trimmings, family, friends, and love.

I have noticed the trend today in the blog-world, but the Weabers also start their meal by saying a prayer and going around the table with everyone telling something they are thankful for.

Although I truly believe we should remind ourselves of our blessings every day of the year, I know that is not always realistic, but for today here are just a few things I am grateful for and really need to celebrate.

1. I AM HOME!

Yes I know I told you all this the other day, but it is wonderful to be home for the holidays, watching the Macy’s Day Parade (does anyone else still love this broadcast), spending time with family I don’t get to see much anymore, and enjoying a little down time.

Since today I was home alone, I actually took the time to SLEEP.

In the past three work days I put in a little extra time to get acclimated with my new position, the environment and daily tasks. My mind was literally spinning with numbers, a to-do list, etc. and I seriously needed a mental shut-down.

I am not really a sleeper…I wake up super early, and I very rarely nap, but today I let my body rise naturally, take a nap, and enjoy the quiet. It was weird, but totally refreshing. Exactly what I needed.

2. I am thankful for my body.

I may criticize it a lot but I am very lucky my body has not completely rebelled against me and have more wrong with it medically than it does.

I get very swollen, have some bone-loss and my hair is a bit thin, but big deal. All those things are totally correctable if I play my cards right.

My body lets me dance, move, hug, snuggle, stretch, walk, play. It lets me do a whole heck of a lot of things some people cannot do, and for that, I am extremely grateful.

3. Friends!

You know its weird, but I always said I didn’t need friends.

I didn’t have time for people outside work, school, my crazy-busy schedule, but what I truly meant was that I didn’t have time for friends and an eating disorder.

This year, however, has been amazing because I have developed some of the most wonderful friendships through blogging, Zumba, and just putting myself out there for others to see.

I never thought anyone would want to spend time with me, other than those who have to (haha my poor family!) but I have a GREAT TIME just being around my peers with similar interests, hobbies, and are just overall fabulous people.

I feel so blessed to have all my new friends in my life, because they truly inspire me and help me grow as a woman, every, single day.

Who was I kidding…not needing friends. Obviously that lack of nutrition was totally messing with my brain function.

4. Family!

I don’t really talk about my family dynamic on here because its pretty complicated.

I always joke that I couldn’t believe a “normal” family like Ryan’s would ever be present in my life because mine is a bit different.  But the things I have gone through with my loved ones, have only made me stronger, and my relationships with those who surround, me even better.

I will probably at some point explain a little more of what I am referring to, but today is not the day.

For now, all you need to know is that when my mom moved to NJ I was thrilled to see her happy, but sad to see her go.

She is my best friend in the entire universe and its weird not having her here when I am bored and need someone to talk to, just to stop by on a random whim, or to have coffee with in the mornings while she stands at our breakfast counter in her robe and I am gobbling down some Chobani (I totally have her hooked on my fave yogurt now too!).

But tonight Ryan, my sister and I are piling in the car and heading her way. We are going to celebrate our holiday at her house, with my NEW family of her significant other and his four children (2 of which I am meeting for the very first time!)

In my opinion, the more the merrier so I can’t wait to add a few more to our clan. 

The back of my car is filled with Wii games, Apples to Apples, Taboo, Scattergories, lots of movies, cards, etc. so we can spend some good quality time together. Isn’t that what the holiday is all about?!

And finally….

5. This…

Yup, just a little preview of some upcoming recipe posts…a Ryan favorite, a delicious side for any time of year, and a sinless desert that I am pretty PUMPED to share…

I hope you all have a wonderful day, counting your blessings, enjoying some delicious treats, and just relaxing.  I know I will 🙂

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!!!

6 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you too! It’s so nice to see you not overwhelmed with ED-voices today and just happy to be with family and to be able to relax and have a good time… life is much too short to spend it living in fear of foods and trying to lose weight. I’m thankful for pretty much the same things as you! And yes, for the first time in years, I too am thankful for my body — which is not perfect, but was never meant to be perfect anyway!

    ❤ Enjoy!

  2. Happy Thanksgiving CJ! I totally love the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade! It is the one day that I allow myself to eat breakfast in front of the TV watching the parade, in my PJ’s. So happy I was at home this year to do that!

    • me too!!!! it was nice to not have to get up, get weighed and wait around freezing my butt of before breakfast, only to sit there for an hour watching the same saved by the bell episodes from when i was 11. i am glad you are home girl! 25 days of christmas has already started!!! ( a bit premature but there are still some good movies!)

Leave a Reply

