What I Ate Wednesday: Office Staples

Guess what today is….

WHAT I ATE WEDNESDAY OF COURSE!!!

And the start to a long week that I have been looking forward to for A WHILE!

So thank you Jenn for starting my holiday off right! But before we get to the turkey day treats (that will come later this week ๐Ÿ™‚ ) I have a different WIAW variety today…

In the last week of training, I have barely had time to breathe let alone sit down for a meal, so since I still have a nutrition plan to meet on a daily basis, I needed to adapt my eating schedule and habitโ€™s a bit; more calorie dense foods have become some of my best friends, maintaining a drawer full of snacks that can be eaten on the flyโ€ฆthese are some things that have permitted me to still maintain the appropriate exchanges for my plan.

So with all this in mind, here is my list of the yummiest, easiest, most convenient office snack stash, items you can possibly find!

Barney Butter Snack Packs

Have you ever had Barney Butter? It might be the best almond butter on the planet. You can order these little squeeze packs on their website directly, or through Amazon, but either way they are awesome for any time you need a convenient snack (we also throw them in our suitcases when traveling).

I love using these to swirl in my Chobani, eat on a piece of fruit, crackers, or even just plain into my mouth (is that weird that I like nut butter plain!?) but seriously, these are awesome! Nut butter fans beware, it is addicting!

Great Harvest Trek Bars

These bad boys are not as easily accessible since you need a Great Harvest to get them (or I suppose you could have them shipped to you?) but they are by far my favorite granola bar ever.

Made with all natural ingredients, they are super filling, amazingly tasty, and a great afternoon pick me up. I wish I could tell you what all was in them, but I honestly donโ€™t know. The only thing I can confirm is that they are fabulous and that one is in my desk right this very second just waiting for 3:30 snack. Yes please!!

100 Calorie Packs of Nuts

It’s no secret that I LOVE Emerald Nuts. Remember my purchase a few weeks ago when I had about 4 canisters in my grocery cart? Well this weekend I picked up the Emerald 100 Calorie Packs of the Cinnamon Roasted Almonds.

They satisfy my sweet tooth, help me meet my healthy fat quota for the day, and are easy to eat while typing away a requisition for supplies. Great combination for a time crunch and some much-needed nourishment.

Emerald Breakfast on The Go

Smores blend, Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana, and Mixed Breakfast Blend…uh, really do I even need to say more?

I know these aren’t some all natural, organic, hippy-dippy type trail-mixes, but they really are yummy and perfect for mornings when I want to come in early for some peace and quiet, or if I want something sweet.

Jazz Apples

I do love honeycrisps. In fact I love many varieties of apple, but my favorite has always been Jazz. The perfect marriage of sweet and tart…crunchy and crisp. They are so delicious to dip in plain greek yogurt! A little Chobani and a Jazz, awesome, awesome, awesome snack!

Oikos Drinkable Yogurt

I first tried the drinkable yogurt at Healthy Living Summit and could not find them since! I loved pouring it over my cereal and a big bow of fruit so I was THRILLED to see it in the case at BJ’s this weekend. It is a bit challenging for me since it is made with 1% fat milk, but Ryan reminded me how essential it is to have these healthy fats incorporated more and more….and really CJ, 1%…get real!

If you like the tang of normal greek yogurt, definitely check out Oikos drinkable for an on-the-go, protein packed, smoothie-like beverage. Yummy!!

Obviously none of these things are meals by themselves, which is why if that is more what you need I would suggest looking here, but the products above have been lifesavers in helping me maintain the proper nutrition I need to fuel my day, and keep up with my exchanges. Not to mention, they are so good they basically make my tummy smile ๐Ÿ™‚ <—-cheese ball much?

So if you need some new items to keep in your desk, or stocked in the office refrigerator, I highly recommend you give these a try.They certainly will not disappoint.

Happy snacking! ๐Ÿ™‚

12 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday: Office Staples

  1. your posts always give such good information that gives me a bit of ideas to this alone:( im so glad you are getting through the changes and adjusting to it so well.have a great day

  2. Hi girl! It’s been a while since I’ve been here. I’m sorry about that.
    Those 100 cal packages of nuts look so neat! Love it!
    I agree about the Jazz apples, I eat them all the time. Love Kanzi apples too!

  3. I recently discovered Nature Valley Granola squares that come in PB and dark chocolate. They’re a great quick snack when I want something sweet and a little salty. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

