Get S.M.A.R.T

Friday was another Gretna Glen day with the kids and I will tell you what.  I was SUPER impressed with their attitudes, teamwork and productivity.  They were a million times better than the first time we went this year, and even improved from the 6.6 rating they gave themselves just two weeks ago.

And to be honest, it was probably one of the most fun days I have ever had with them as a whole group.

The camp counselor decided he wanted to continue the theme of setting goals, which you could tell they weren’t one hundred percent thrilled about but they were at least quiet when he went through his introductory schpeal.

“Are you ready to get SMART?”

They all looked around like, “what the heck is this guy talking about?”

“SMART,” he repeated.  “We all need to be SMART when it comes to setting goals.”

Ok, the counselor has totally lost his mind.

And then he whipped out this large poster with the word written down the side.

“SMART,” he explained was his handy-dandy way of remembering how to effectively set goals.  And now, I’m going to be a copy-cat and totally adopt his method…but not without sharing it with all of you 🙂

S-Specific

You really can’t accomplish something without knowing what you are trying to achieve, right?

That seems pretty obvious.  But I think it is important to remember that when you are setting a goal you need to set a parameter or guideline for where you eventually want to end up. 

Which sounds better?

I will be nicer to myself this week.

OR

I will say AT LEAST three nice things to myself every day.

M-Measurable

This is similar to the “specific” portion of the goal setting model. 

You need a definitive guideline to measure your progress. 

Since I specified THREE things I will say that are positive about myself, it makes it easier to see how well I am doing and where I need to improve…

A-Achievable

If i wanted to be really ambitious I would have said,

“I will eliminate negative self-talk from my life, completely.”

But really, how realistic is that???  I have admitted to you all that I have a bit of a problem with my internal bully, so in a split second it would be pretty darn difficult for me to completely shut that meanie out. 

I think it sounds pretty doable, however, to combat that negative voice with a few complimentary mental statements.  What do you think?

R-Risk-Taking

At the same time, you don’t want to set your goals too minimally where they really aren’t improving anything in your life.

Give yourself a bit of a challenge!

Maybe three personal positive comments does not seem like a lot, but that is three more than what I am doing now.  Next week I will go for 5, but three sounded like a perfect starting point that was not completely out of reach.

Plus, no one ever said you couldn’t be an overachiever 🙂

T-Time-Sensitive

Do NOT give yourself an infinite time limit to achieve something, because chances are you will put it off, forget about it, or it will casually slip down your list of priorities and may never get done. 

If I would have said, “I will say three things that are nice about myself…” and never mentioned EVERY DAY, I will tell you right now tomorrow would come and I would still be criticizing the heck out of who I am, how I look and what I do.  But now I have a definitive time frame, specific objective and essentially a plan, of how to change my way of thinking.

I liked the counselor’s little tool.  What a relevant topic for pretty much anyone, and what an awesome pneumonic device to use when your are stuck in a rut planning your goals.

So what better way to start your week than using his acronym.

Time to get S.M.A.R.T! (Or smarter! 😉 )

Any goals you want to share???

3 thoughts on “Get S.M.A.R.T

  1. I struggle with R, risk-taking. When I make goals, I kind of cheat, and pick things that I know I can accomplish. I hate making a goal and then not meeting it. I’m really going to try to push myself to pick some goals that are a tad bit out of my reach.*

  2. Pingback: Do You Have S.M.A.R.T Goals?

Leave a Reply

