Anticipating Snow, October Inspired Softies

Happy Saturday everyone!

If you live in the northeast like me, you might just be preparing for the snow we are anticipated to receive this weekend.  I personally love winter weather, but wasn’t quite ready to welcome it at the end of October.  Tonight Ryan and I are actually scheduled to chaperone the high school’s homecoming dance and it is not going to be pleasant walking around in a dress and heels in 30 degree precipitation.

Oh well, I am still going to use our school duty as an opportunity to be nostalgic about our alma mater and the memories made there, as well as a chance for us to spend an evening together after a crazy hectic work week.

But, before I go turn on the slow cooker and start my morning full of soup cooking, I wanted to share a little recipe with you that I received in my e-mail this week, and made pretty much immediately.

Want to guess the main ingredient????

Duh, pumpkin!!!

Anticipating Snow, While Saying Goodbye To October, Softies

Inspired by the Thursday Hungry Girl Newsletter

Makes 8 Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup canned pure pumpkin
  • 1/8 cup Splenda brown sugar blend (not packed)
  • 2 tbsp. Stevia in the Raw
  • 2 tbsp. fat-free liquid egg substitute
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 1 packet plain instant oatmeal

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. Mix all the ingredients together.

3. Spoon onto a baking sheet and put in the oven for 12-15 minutes.

4. Eat, Eat, Eat!

These are pretty similar to some of the other things I have made recently, but definitely worth the 10 minutes they took to construct.  Plus, I absolutely love that the recipe made 8 servings! Most cookie recipes I find yield like 40 sweets and I just don’t need to keep all those in my house (remember that post I had about reactive eating!)

Hopefully these will keep you warm, and a smile on your face as the snow falls two days before trick-or-treat.

Christmas time, anyone???

One thought on “Anticipating Snow, October Inspired Softies

Leave a Reply

