Family, Food and Fun Grand Tasting Edition

Words cannot express how much fun Ryan, my mom and I had the last three days. 

Oh my gosh I wish I could re-cap it all in one post, but throughout the week, I will be giving you some highlites on our experiences, meetings, NEW FANTASTICALLY AMAZING DELICIOUS PRODUCTS (this could be a very exciting What I Ate Wednesday 🙂 ) and overall incredible time we had in three, very short days.

I will spare you the details from our shopping trip Friday, aside from saying you MUST visit Woodbury Commons if you are ever around the Mid-Atlantic States. 

I have pretty much been obsessed with Lulu Lemon clothes ever since I bought my first pair of pants when I was in ED inpatient at Princeton hospital (stretch pants are essential when your waist is expanding pretty much every day) and I still tend to live in their Groove variety every day when I come home from school. 

The problem is, their product is wicked expensive!!!

There is no doubt that it lasts, meaning the quality is superb, BUT I still have a hard time shelling out around $100 per pant every time I want a new pair.  So I was ecstatic when I saw they had an outlet store, only an hour away from my mom….hence our trip to Woodbury Commons

There were also other high-end retailers that I never even thought would have discount sales centers, but trust me, it is totally worth a trip if you are in the vicinity. 

I am now the proud owner of 1 new pair of pants, 2 new capris, an awesome jacket and a sporty little top that I will definitely be wearing to Zumba this week.  Bright Purple 🙂

Anyway…

Friday we kept the evening pretty low-key and cooked at my mom’s house since we knew the next day would be LONG and full of tasty treats…

I will let you be the judge 🙂

 

There were a ton of booths, featuring local restaurants, vineyards from all over the world, companies that are private but ship nationally (look for a few of those later this week!!! omg sea salt cookies!) and international vendors that we all know and love but were either promoting new products or introducing creative ways to incorporate their stuff in yummy meals or snacks. 

And you see that green bag in the center a few rows up….

Yup, that baby (plus my mom and Ryan’s) were FULL of free samples I cannot wait to dig into! I even grabbed some extra stuff to share at school this week!

But aside from the food, it was awesome to spend time with my mom and Ryan, just the three of us. 

Ry and I lived at my mom’s old house (where I currently reside now) with her and my sister when we were hunting for a residence and finishing up school.  In that time we traveled together, played games, watched movies, and genuinely just enjoyed each other’s company.

I am really blessed that my husband and mom get along so well, and this weekend was no exception.  Between shopping, cooking at home, the Grand Tasting, him getting harassed by Rocco Dispirito, again (Oh, yes, that requires a post all on its own!) and my favorite Top Chef, Fabio, the parties with Morimoto and Debie Mazar, and dinner at Craft, it really was a blast to be with my two favorite people.

It actually felt like the old me was starting to emerge at times, when I wasn’t concerned and consumed by negative self-talk, horrific body image, and the desire to avoid all social situations. 

It truly was a weekend full of family, food and fun!

More to come later 🙂

I hope you all had a fabulous weekend!!! ❤

14 thoughts on “Family, Food and Fun Grand Tasting Edition

  1. Looks like you had a great time and got to spend awesome times with your mom and Ryan and consume great foods :). Even better that you weren’t anxious or anything around that food (and all those people), that’s a really big step in the right direction.

    I love bargains on workout gear too!

  2. I am so, so , SO happy for you, that you were able to enjoy yourself like that! I really hope this kickstarts your mind to be able to embrace recovery fully since you had a glimpse of how wonderful life can be when you let yourself just live!
    BTW – those pretzels look amazing…..that is one food, even during the worst of my ED, I could NOT resist.

  3. You have no idea how happy it makes me to read that paragraph about the old you re-emerging!! 🙂

    I’m looking forward to your posts about the weekend, too. I’m glad you had a good time and I can’t wait to hear about it!

  4. Looks like a great weekend CJ!! It’s great that your husband and mom get along so well – not everyone is lucky enough to have that kind of relationship.

  5. I hate it when I cant write about all the fun I hadil on my blog 😦 I just want to share all my joy with my readers!! I guess thats what pictures are for?? Looks like you had so much fun and I absolutely love stretch pants, no guilt!! All the food looks so good and I cant wait to read this weeks WIAW now. So glad to here the old you is coming back out!! I knew when my personality started to come back I was really recovering.

  6. I also love spending time en being together with my family. Looks you had a super weekend! All those delicious foods, god, I love that. I’m addicted to free samples! Excited about your WIAW next wednesday! Lovely pictures girl!

  7. AHh I am so so proud of you CJ, and am beyond thrilled you had a wonderful time! Seriously, you deserve it more than you know… you deserve to embrace life and enjoy the things that once made you happy ,and will again 🙂 All things beyond deprivation and restriction I might add!

Leave a Reply

