WIAW Snack Attack

Happy Hump Day!!!

I can’t believe we are already half way through the week and its time for another awesome What I Ate Wednesday, inspired by the very creative Jenn from Peas and Crayons!

I wish I had some seriously awesome meal to picture, but as always, I have been pretty boring as far as my routine packed lunches, and starchy yogurt breakfasts go, BUT something that is different this week is that I have been feeling particularly snacky lately.

If you are a female you might know exactly what I am talking about because not only am I all about picking at things pretty much all day long, but my craving signals were all over the map; sweet, salty, warm, savory, crunchy, I mean you name it, it sounded good to me!

But really, who am I kidding because I am a total texture person all the time, I just happened to find some new things to fawn over.

To start us off, I had to stop at the supermarket on sunday to take advantage of this awesome deal on bagged salad. Now I don’t know about you but I am not the type of person that can just walk into a store, ANY store, and just get the thing I came for and walk out.

No. I have to browse and check out any other sales I may have missed in the flyer or look at what could potentially be new and exciting to add to my meal plan for the week.

Well thank goodness I didn’t just stop at the produce! Or else I would not have found this:

I eat A LOT of greek yogurt; at least one a day, and I really do not discriminate against any flavors or brands, but my two staples vary between Oikos and Chobani, depending on price and availability.

I’ve been DYING to try Superfruit ever since I saw it on Claire’s blog a few months ago and FINALLY found it for the very first time, which practically made me scream with excitement right there in the dairy aisle.

Just as Claire said, it is a bit sweet, but the thing I love about Chobani and Oikos is that the flavor is pretty much at the bottom waiting to be mixed in. I generally don’t mix all the goo into the plain section, which is somewhat wasteful I suppose, but I like a little bit of tart and sometimes they just add too much “fruit gel.”

Regardless, it was delicious and hopefully when I do my next weekly shop, I will be able to find it again. It certainly was a nice change from the same varieties I buy week after week.

Aside from eating yogurt, every single day, I also have a bit of a problem with my consumption of snack bars. I can, and sometimes do eat 3 Clif, Luna, Clif Mojo, Nugo, Lara, Kashi, and perhaps a few other brands of granola bars, everyday.

They have always been a help to me when it came to completing my recovery meal plan because, as I did in the hospital, I would just add one of these handy-dandy cookie-like treats to my meals and it would supplement the extra calories needed.

But then I became like an addict. They are so good! Sometimes I would rather have them than actual meals because in my mind they taste better. But that’s not real life. People do not LIVE on energy bars, nor do these snacks provide enough nutrients for me to grow back my hair and repair my body as it demands, so I need to cut back my reliance and start implementing more FOOD into my day.

I went through this before, where I tried to stall my intake of Mojo Bars, when I went through a box every two weeks…a large variety pack from Amazon type box.

I literally had Ryan hide them because I knew if they were in the pantry I would NEED one.

The first few days were hard…it was like going through withdrawal! But then slowly I started enjoying other things, maybe not AS much (I mean really, chocolate, peanut butter, pretzels and nuts, are pretty killer combinations!) but at least I was attempting to expand my pallete!

So in an effort to satisfy my salty-sweet preference, I decided to make a version of a Clif Mojo Bar.

As I scoured the internet I stumbled upon a pretty awesome site that I will definitely be visiting more frequently for recipe ideas; http://www.dashingdish.com/.

When I saw her formula for “Fit Granola Bars,” and realized I had most of the ingredients in my pantry, plus a few additions, I knew I had to try them!

And although they didn’t turn out PERFECT (really, what is perfect anyway?!) I know what to do next time to make them even better!

Chewy Mock Mojo

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Erewhon’s brown rice cereal
  • 1 cup Honey Bunches of Oats Almond
  • Handful of Cheerios (thrown in at the end because they looked good in my pantry!)
  • 2-100 calorie packs of pretzels (I only had the small packs, but 2 handfuls would work just as well!)
  • 1 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup sugar-free maple syrup (Mrs. Butterworth Sugar Free was what I used but I think Agave or Honey would work well too!)
  • 1/4 cup of Chocolate PB 2 with tablespoons of water mixed in
  • 3 Tablespoons of Stevia in the raw

How To:

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

2. Pour all the cereals, oats, and pretzels, into one big bowl. Give them a slight mix with your hands and transfer them to a large baggie.

3. Smash the grains in the baggie using any method you like…I used my first but a rolling pin works too (not nearly as much fun!)

4. Put grains back in the big bowl and pour syrup, stevia and PB2 mixture over top.

5. Get a baking dish (I used 8×8) and smash the mixture flat into the dish.

6. Put into the oven and bake for 25 minutes.

7. Remove from the oven and cut into as many bars as you desire (I cut mine into 12)

8. Put the pan with your newly cut bars back into the oven for another 15 minutes if you prefer them to be more chewy, or dashanddine suggests even up to an hour with the oven turned off for a crunchy texture. <— I did the chewy and I think next time I might keep them in a little longer just to spice things up!

They were good! I especially liked the maple syrup flavor, but I think next time I will try adding the chocolate chips, and/or raisins as she suggests on her site.

To fix my chocolate craving I simply smeared a bit of Dark Chocolate Dreams right on top and called it an amazing snack!

But back to the grocery store, it must have been a serious sale week because I do not typically deviate from my list. I have it all calculated and organized by aisle and what coupons I have, BUT two more things, other than that delicious Oikos I told you about just a few paragraphs ago, caught my eye.

Emerald Cinnamon Roast Almonds.

I am already a HUGE fan of the sweet and salty mixes. The Chocolate Peanut Butter variety is literally to die for, and don’t worry I picked up a canister of those, as well! But these babies were BUY ONE GET ONE FREE! And I had a dollar off coupon, so I figured, why not try something new?!

And I am so glad I did. They are absolutely delicious. They totally remind me of Christmas, or the holidays when you walk in the house and it smells like mom was baking a pumpkin or apple pie. So yummy and an awesome mix-in for some plain greek yogurt.

And these….

Quaker Rice Snacks Sweet Chili

I used to LOVE Whole Foods Soy Crisps, but I havent purchased them in so long because I have recently been on a PopChips kick. Dont get me wrong, the next time I visit Target I will definitely be purchasing more of those, but at the end of the aisle were racks of Quaker Snack Crisps in about a billion different flavors.

The Sweet Chili jumped out at me right away, and I knew they would be an awesome side for the Pumpkin Chili I made this weekend. And I was ABSOLUTELY correct.

These little puffs are spicy, but with a kick that is tolerable and wonderfully delectible. I am embarassed to say the bag is already gone 😦

So how about you? Any new snack finds to share for when the attack strikes again?!

I can’t wait to see what everyone else is enjoying!!

17 thoughts on “WIAW Snack Attack

  1. i looove snacks! i went to a different than usual whole foods this weekend and they had coconut date rolls, which i totally freaked out over and have been snacking on those. when i was in the hospital we used to get the caramel rice quakes with pudding as a snack, and that was SO delicious. popchips are always a win, but i don’t trust myself with a whole bag in my house. i can totally relate to wanting to eat clif/luna/mojo/lara bars at all occasions. they’re so tasty! PLUS it’s fall, which means it’s pumpkin spice clif bar season… you really can’t go wrong there, can you?

    • coconut date rolls?! that sounds aweome!! and believe it or not i have had a bazillion clif bars in my life, but never pumpkin spice. i need to get one immediately.

  2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE oikos! I love the plain with some cinnamon stirred in. Im also a fan of those rice cakes, i usually get the caramel ones. One of my other favorite snacks in a smoothie, either the premade ones or one i can quickly blend myself.

  3. I love the chocolate chip Cliff bars, especially when they are slightly melted (I left one out in the sun by accident once and it was amazing). The Emerald cocoa roasted almonds are pretty good too if you’re looking for a slight chocolate fix. Fage also makes pretty good greek yogurt and they have packs where the “fruit” is separate so you can add as much or as little as you want and you don’t have to worry about mixing in too much.

    • ohhh i have a peanut toffee buzz in mu lunch bag right now and although there is no sun i am very tempted to put it on the heater for a few minutes. i do like fage its just a little pricey for me and my cheap grrocery budget! but i tried their guava and acai and it was awesome!!!
      thank you for the suggestions 🙂

      • I don’t recommend putting a Cliff bar in the microwave with the wrapper still on. Apparently there is metal in the wrapper because mine sort of exploded/sparked when I tried it. It would probably work well out of the wrapper though! Fage and Chobani can be expensive, but I definitely stock up when there are sales!

      • chobani is always 10 for 10$ at my store so i am typically a chobani junkie!!! and yes the metal will make it spark haha i put my peanut toffee buzz in front of my space heater today and it was AWESOME. thanks for the tip hun!

  4. I second the comments on caramel rice cakes and the cocoa roast almonds! I don’t like plain almonds, LOVE anything chocolatey, but I’ve also been debating whether or not I want to try the cinnamon ones you bought! I’m just afraid they might be TOO cinnamony/spicy. But I do love cinnamon, so maybe they’ll be perfect 😉 And caramel rice cakes with pudding is also a fave of mine.

    Also, I’ve been snacking a lot on the 100-cal buttery popcorn packs which I sprinkle with a hefty dose of cinnamon, a packet of Stevia, and drizzle it with some honey!

    • oh my gosh if you like chocolate you have to try Emeralds sweet and salty chocolate peanut butter mixed nuts! soooo good!
      i am obsessed with vanilla pudding right now and caramel cakes would be awesome mixed in…definitely putting those on my list!!!
      gosh jess you have fabulous ideas!

      • I cannot find the sweet and salty chocolate peanut butter mixed nuts anywhere! lol. I’ll have to whip out my credit card and use it online somewhere I think haha.

  5. Any organic yogurt (stoneyfield vanilla is my favorite..but I’n the bigger container because it’s a better deal than the individual packs..though they are convenient…I like to pre pack my own containers because then I can decide how much or little I want..) anyway that was a bit of a tangent but vanilla yogurt with a sprinkle of granola for some added crunch and a dash of cinnamon with some slices of apple (or banana) is my favorite. 🙂 plus I JUST tried popchips for the first time a few days ago after reading about them in one of your posts from a while ago..and let me tell you…I’m obsessed. Anytime you me to pick some up for you let me know! I’m always in Harrisburg for work! 🙂 keep posting your Amazing recipes too..those meatballs were delish!!! Try it with whole wheat penne and TJ vodka sauce…it was life changing!!!

    • ohhh i love the parfait idea! stonyfield does make some awesome yogurt! not too sweet but awesome texture.
      CAN WE PLEASE MAKE A TJ OR WEGMANS TRIP?!?!?! ill come to you in harrisburg anytime and we can shop for popchips together 🙂

Leave a Reply

