SOUPer Sunday

Sunday has always been my day to batch-cook. For those of you who are unfamiliar with this concept, it basically means, making dishes that can provide large enough quantities to last through the week, or can be frozen for future meals.

Because our family doesn’t often eat at restaurants, or purchase our lunches, I like to make things that can easily be packed, or ready in minutes for a hectic evening after a very long day.

Ryan and I both have crazy weeks, with him working night shift and shadowing for his school application, and me having my typical schedule but with a few detentions thrown in, that only permit me to come home around 4 o’clock.

PLUS, we are headed to New Jersey to visit my mom for the weekend, so I wanted to make sure Linds had something she could simply transport into a bowl if she got hungry while she was home alone.

Because its fall, and I am absolutely celebrating the change of season, I decided soup was on the agenda for today.

As I was making this decision, while watching the news, a commercial for Wendy’s came on the television. It was as if it were meant to be, because Wendy’s has my favorite chili in the world, outside my own kitchen. Today I was going to make chili and that was that!

But not just any chili….

I made TWO varieties, one of which you can find here.

But the second kind, is a Ryan Weaber favorite, and I knew I had the ingredients to make at least something similar to the recipe he likes, so this souper-duper easy seemed like the perfect afternoon activity! 

Welcome Fall White Chili

Ingredients:

  • 10 oz lean ground turkey (browned)
  • 2 links of chicken sausage (ones that are already cooked…I like Al Fresco)
  • 5 cups of low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 can of rinsed and drained garbanzo beans or cannelloni beans
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 green pepper (chopped)
  • 1 small onion (chopped)
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • Many shakes of chili powder (determine this based on taste preference…for me this means about 50 million shakes!)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Plain greek yogurt or sour cream (optional)

Directions:

1. Add garlic, chopped pepper and onions to a large pot over medium-high heat for about five minutes or until the onion looks browned.

2. Add browned ground turkey and seasonings and let flavors marry for a minute or so.

3. Add chicken broth to mixture and let it simmer 10 minutes over medium heat.

4. Add beans and the pre-cooked chicken sausage, with more seasoning if you prefer.

5. Turn down to lowest possible setting on your stove and let that delicious soup rest there for AT LEAST 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

6. Serve it up topped with some sour cream or greek yogurt and have a comforting, heart-warming meal.

Have you started to make warm, comfort foods, or are you still stuck on summer?

I hope you all have a family, football and fun-filled sunday!!!

11 thoughts on “SOUPer Sunday

  1. I love chili and make a pretty mean one myself! I also use ground turkey, but put more of a tomato base to mine. I like to use tomato juice and stewed tomatoes, which I find make it a little thicker. I like your recipe for the pumpkin chili and may have to make some of that. I really hate the coming colder weather, but it does put me in the mood for some good fall food.

    • i love tomato based chili. its so good over a salad with some greek yogurt and kashi spicy pita chips! any other fall recipes you want to share??? im ready to be warm!!

  2. Mmm, looks tasty!
    I make soup every day. It’s my usual meal for lunch, with a good source of protein (chicken breast, turkey, fish, shrimps, …) on the side. I even like it on very hot days!

  3. Pingback: WIAW: Flying Solo « Healthy, Happy, Whole

Leave a Reply

