Pumped for Pumpkin and Meatballs Galore!

Even though Ryan is working all weekend, it is so nice to have someone to converse with during dinner, rather than listening to the news in the background. Because I am no longer cooking for one, and the weather was pretty chilly today, I was totally in the mood for fall foods! To me this means warm, comforting, savory flavors, most of which I have missed all summer. It also means PUMPKIN!

But before we get to the easiest, most moist and delicious, two ingredient pumpkin cookies, ever, I did make Ryan and I a nutritious dinner to preface what I was really excited about.

After watching Rocco’s Dinner Party the other night, I had a serious craving for meatballs, and the weird thing was, I didn’t actually want beef meatballs (although I am definitely a beef girl more than poultry, any day) I was instead hankering for some nice turkey and garlic meatballs with lots of herbs and spices.

When I search for recipes, I typically look for inspiration rather than step by step ways to prepare our meals. I personally like to come up with my own twists to tailor them to our taste preferences, so I started looking and combined a few ideas from here, here and here.

Tasty Turkey Balls O’ Meat

Makes 20 Mini-Balls (enough for left-overs!!!)

Ingredients:

  • 20 ounces of Lean Ground Turkey Breast
  • 1 teaspoon Garlic Gold Nuggets
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon parsley flakes
  • Enough red sauce to coat the bottom of a baking dish (will vary depending on size of dish, obviously)
  • More sauce for the final 10-15 minutes of cooking

Directions:

1. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees

2. Combine the first five ingredients into a big bowl and mix them together

3. Coat the bottom of a baking dish with enough sauce so you don’t see the bottom

4. Make the turkey mixture into 20 round balls with your hands and arrange them in the oven-friendly dish…they do not have to be covered with sauce.

5. Put the balls into the oven and cook for approximately 40 minutes, or until the meat is no longer pink, checking on them every now and then to move some around so they all cook evenly.

6. Add more sauce and let them simmer in the over for another 10-15 minutes

Now, in addition to this amazingly good protein, I made some spaghetti squash and spinach for underneath. I have never attempted to make spaghetti squash, which is a pretty good stand-in for pasta, but I have seen it done so often that when I passed it on special in the store, I figured what better way to complete my fall-friendly menu, than accompany it with some fall veggies?! And I just love spinach so of course that had to be thrown in for the extra nutrients.

I have to admit, I was pretty intimidated by the squash, because I wasn’t quite sure what I was doing. And then I remember Janeetha’s post a few weeks ago, when she did a tutorial on how to properly handle the process. Thank goodness for the blog world…they teach me so many things.

YUMMY!!!

Although these were super good, and they will make the perfect lunch tomorrow, the highlight of my day were these…

Now get ready because these are very difficult, and I don’t know if you can handle making them…

Pumpkin Chewies

Makes 12 Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 box spice cake mix (approximately 1.75 cups)
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix!)

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

2. Mix the TWO ingredients together until well blended

3. Spoon the batter onto a non-stick baking sheet, making 12 blobs.

4. Bake for 12-15 minutes depending on desired texture (I prefer the shorter time because they are so gooey and soft!)

5. Refrain from eating all 12 at one time because I guarantee you will want more in an hour!

Pretty simple, huh? and I promise, I totally prefer homemade, non-boxed baked goods way better than any Betty Crocker variety, BUT I made these once before when I had a craving that needed to be satisfied like, ASAP, and I enjoyed them so much I had to make them again….

They are also good with added chocolate chips (or white chocolate chips!), nuts, raisins, etc. but today I just wanted some good old spiced pumpkin.

Thank you Fall for your fabulous flavors!!!

Please share your favorite fall recipes!   

14 thoughts on “Pumped for Pumpkin and Meatballs Galore!

    • your posts always help me out!!! i still cant wait to make the cake balls!!! i got like 6 boxes of cake mix for a dollar each so im stashing them away to make a variety of flavors haha i hope your having a nice weekend at home! cant wait to see what you makeeee!

  1. Those meatballs look delicious! I just posted on my blog about some accidental meatballs… they were meant to be burgers but they just went horribly wrong! Anyway, these are on my to-make list 🙂 thanks for sharing!

    • hahah ive had those kitchen accidents!!! i had a salmon fiasco once and i felt like i wasted two perfectly good pieces of fish! but im glad you think my recipe looks worth trying! they were rather delicious!

  2. I love spaghetti squash! Those pictures are gorgeous :). I’ve never had it made the way you described it. I’m finding a lot of good recipes that I can share with my son and husband (and my little one, once he gets here). I read your last couple posts and Congratulations on the wedding anniversary, I celebrated my two year as well, doesn’t that feel good ? 🙂 Stay well. ❤

    • ohhh what are your suggestions for spaghetti squash?!? im so new to the veggie but its really yummy and would like to start eating more!
      thank you for the congratulations! congratulations to you too on the marriage and the new addition to the family!!!!

  3. Mmmm, great meatballs! I love how versatile meatballs are and you can throw them into any sort of dish (pasta, squash, salad, wrap, sandwich) and it adds instant protein. Your version looks tasty, I love those garlic gold nuggets.

Leave a Reply

