Batter Blaster Giveaway!!!

Good Morning!
I had mentioned the other day that I was considering doing a breakfast series. I haven’t decided how I want to go about it exactly, but I figured I would start by posting the handout I gave to my students the other day when they were having serious breakfast woes.

When their little tummys are rumbling at 8:30 a.m. because they hadn’t had anything before school, I knew we needed to have a little chat. During our Personal and Social Development period they gave three excuses why they never consume a morning meal, and I told them to give me until the next day to come up with a cheat sheet, so I never had to hear these justifications again.

So first, here is my handout…

“Three Cheers for Cheerios!

Ok, maybe not Cheerios per se, but breakfast in general should be celebrated! I am sure you have heard the morning meal is the most important of the day, so then why do the majority of Americans tend to skip it?

Most Common Excuses:

I don’t have time

I’m not hungry in the morning

I don’t like breakfast food

Overcoming Excuses:

I don’t have time…

There are 0849609836890456 choices in your grocery store that take NO time at all to prepare…I call these the grab and go options because they are portable, quick to eat, and delicious.

1. Classic PB Sandwich

Start with your bread, or even better try some frozen waffles, or flavored bagel, smear on a little nut butter, then choose jam, honey, banana slices, or fluff and you have an excellent combination of carbohydrates, fats and proteins. Not to mention one of my favorite all time dishes! Pair this with a glass of milk and it is pretty much a five-star nutritional choice.

2. Overnight Oats in a Jar (OIAJ)

These were a lifesaver for me in college, and awesome because you can pretty much tailor them to your every taste bud’s desire. You start with the OATS base…I actually take an instant oatmeal packet, put it in any old jar with some water and heat it up as directed on the package (or for thicker oats like STEEL CUT, there is no heating at all, just leave them raw). Once it cools add equal parts liquid, meaning milk and yogurt. I tend to put 1/3 cup of each. Place the jar into the refrigerator and let the oats soak up the liquid overnight. In the morning add your “fixins.” For me this means some nut butter, fruit, maybe a little more liquid, crunchy cereal for some texture, nuts, and seeds, pretty much anything I can find that sounds appealing!

The oaty-dairy base provides a great combo food in itself, and then with the addition of some healthy fats, and more carbohydrates, you have a perfectly filling breakfast to power you through until lunch.

3. Hardboiled Eggs

You can buy hardboiled eggs already made in the store (right by the eggs and cheese) but making your own is super easy and inexpensive. Make a batch on Sunday and you can have a few days worth ready and at your disposal. They are also a great additive for salads and sandwiches as well!

4. Portable Bars

To me this means Larabar, Clif Bar, Clif Mojo, Luna, Nugo, Kashi, any of these are amazing choices that taste great and are relatively nutritious. Pair these with some milk, yogurt or fruit and have a pretty balanced “meal.”

5. Nuts

Sweet and Salty Chocolate Peanut Butter Mixed Nuts by Emerald are pretty much heaven, but there are obviously a ton of choices! From peanuts to cashews, flavored almonds to macadamia nuts, there is something for almost everyone!

6. Cereal and Yogurt.

Both these things are transportable, and if you choose Greek, you get a pretty decent amount of protein! Just be mindful of the sugar in your cereal.

I’m not hungry in the morning…

Ideally you should eat within thirty minutes of waking to kick-start that metabolism into gear, but if you absolutely cannot stomach that (no pun intended!) then use the options above to grab something and go! Just make sure to eat it! 🙂

I don’t like breakfast food…

Breakfast does not have to be traditional morning fare! It’s your meal, you can tailor it to your taste preferences…I know my dad would rather have a steak sandwich rather than an omelets any day of the week, but he knows to do his best at work he at least needs something!

1. Think Deli…think sandwich…

Ham and Cheese, Turkey and Hummus, Mock Pizzas on an English muffin….there are a bunch of options, they are just a bit outside the box. Your typical brown bag meals can definitely be made into easy breakfasts!

2. Leftovers!

Say you make a really awesome dinner the night before…wouldn’t you be excited to wake up to a similar meal?! What does it matter the time of day, if you enjoy what you are having, and fueling for activity! Stir fry at 7 a.m.? Yes please!!

Obviously there are tons more options out there. I mean, how many aisles do you go through in a grocery store?! More than a dozen! So make breakfast a priority and see how you feel. I can guarantee your mornings just might be a little more productive!”

*If you all have more to add for my kiddos please, please let me know!

BUT ONTO THE MORE EXCITING NEWS!!

Batter Blaster Ready to Cook Pancake and Waffle Batter sent me four free coupons to give away!!

If you havent seen this in the store check out their website for more information. Apparently my stomach made my brain forget to take a photo before my weekend pancake breakfast, but I used it in my Mickey Waffle Maker and it worked out great!

It took literally 4 minutes to prepare an awesomely satisfying morning meal, and I have been nagging my students since Monday to pick some up so I no longer have to hear their stomach’s growling before homeroom!

To enter, let me know in the comment section what your favorite breakfast is…and favorite waffle or pancake topping! (this is somewhat selfish of a question because I am always looking for new ideas!!!!)

Enter by noon of Friday. I will randomly pick a winner after school!!!

Have an awesome WIAW morning 🙂

17 thoughts on “Batter Blaster Giveaway!!!

  1. Cool giveaway!

    My favorite breakfast is greek yogurt, blueberries, and cereal. I switch up the cereal, but currently cheerios is my go-to.

    As for pancake toppings…sorry, I’m boring. Maple syrup.

  2. You have a Mickey Waffle Iron? I am so jealous. I will have to add that to my Christmas list. I am one of those “I am not hungry” in the morning, but I do like to have a extra large glass of Chocolate Milk to at least start my day with a big load of calcium( and I am a choco-holic so an easy way to add my favorite flavor to my day). My favorite waffle-pancake topping is blueberries with whipped cream….a standard favorite!

    • YES! I love my mickey waffle iron! they actually have a bunch more available than when I got mine like 10 years ago! i love chocolate too! batter blaster actually makes chocolate mix! so if you win (of even if you dont 🙂 ) you might want to pick that up 🙂

  3. While normally my favorite breakfast is french toast, the beau instituted pancake Saturdays that became a staple at home. I looooove adding strawberries and powdered sugar to my pancakes. So what if breakfast is a dessert?

    • i am actually a huge fan of sweet breakfasts! i made an egg sandwich the other day and it totally wasnt satisfying….give me peanut butter, carbs, and some yogurt and i am a happy girl!! i have to try the powdered sugar! that sounds delish!! and i am totally with you on the french toast. I could eat that every morning.

  4. My favorite breakfast is oatmeal with all my mix-ins! aka peanut butter, nuts, and other cereal 🙂

    And my favorite pancake/waffle topping is either peanut butter or some cottage cheese! you could mix up yogurt or cottage cheese with some jam and it would be delish 🙂

    yayay for a giveaway!

  5. I was one of those kids who never ate breakfast throughout middle and high school, but once I started college last year I’ve been making myself eat. My favorite is Kashi Heart to Heart blueberry cereal. I don’t know why but I’m addicted!

    My favorite topping for waffles is vanilla yogurt with fresh strawberries, blueberries and banana…now I want some!

  6. One of my favorite breakfasts is a scrambled egg, bacon and arugala taco on a whole wheat tortilla, topped with Horizon organic shredded cheddar cheese, some roasted salsa and a dollop of Horizon organic sour cream.

    I love adding cinnamon, flax seed, bananas and/or agave nectar to my pancakes and waffles!

    • ohhh that taco sounds yummy! arugula on anything is awesome! im constantly looking for filling breakfasts and that sounds like it would totally do the trick!
      im a flax fan as well! so good stirred into cereal and oatmeal too!

  7. My fave breakfast is actually something that I ate while in recovery at Remuda Ranch and still eat to this day. Its a whole wheat tortilla filled with cottage cheese, mixed nuts and mandarin oranges. Oh and who can not love belgium waffles with my fave topping, greek yogurt and honey with some strawberries added in 🙂

Leave a Reply

