Experimental Update

So technically I am almost a day into my Eat What I Want Weekend and I am excited to report it has been going well! 

I brown bagged it today for lunch since I was working at the pool, which was not that exciting or picture-worthy, since it was a pretty typical selection, BUT, I did make some delicious eats for dinner and dessert.

Recently I purchased Joseph’s Flax Oat Bran and Whole Wheat Pita Shells, which I fully intended on using for the Brown Bag Challenge this week, making perhaps a few yummy sandwiches, but today I had serious craving for pizza, and figured they would make the PERFECT base. 

You have seen homemade pizza on here a few times but this one was pretty darn good so I feel as if I need to share what went into this amazing dinner…

First it began yesterday with the roasted tomatoes.

Roasted Tomatoes

Ingredients:

1. Preheat your oven to 225 degrees and roast these babies for about an hour.

2. When they are all wrinkly, transfer them to a pan, add some water and continue stirring until the tomatoes break apart and you have a more pasty consistency. 

3. Add a pinch more Garlic Gold, seasoning to taste, and let them simmer for half an hour, stirring occasionally.

You will have a relatively thick tomato-ey sauce that works awesome for pizza layer number 1!

To make the actual pizza…

Ingredients:

  • Joseph’s Pita Bread
  • 1/2 Chicken Sausage cooked and diced (I used Nature’s Promise Spinach and Feta)
  • Sweet Peppers
  • Onions marinated in balsamic vinegar
  • Homemade tomato paste
  • LOTS of arugula
  • Cabot Reduced Fat Cheese (or any other cheese you like 🙂 )

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees (convection).

2. Put all the ingredients on top of your “crust.”

3. Bake for about 12 minutes.

4. Top with fresh basil, crushed red pepper and a pinch of Garlic Gold Nuggets.

5. Savor the amazing flavors!!!

Now, what is a meal without a little something sweet?!

After reading one of Melissa’s tweets today, referring to her Banana Walnut Chocolate Chip Muffins, I decided I needed to have one ASAP.

Unfortunately I didn’t have the exact ingredients so I made a few changes and they still turned out pretty fabulous.

Melissa Inspired Banana Chocolate and Peanut Butter Minis

Makes 16 miniature muffies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 medium ripe banana…smashed
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tablespoon of water
  • 1 tablespoon of Dark Chocolate Chips
  • 1 tablespoon of Peanut Butter Chips

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

2. Smash the banana in a bowl and add the wet ingredients, mixing them all together.

3. Add the dry ingredients and stir them into the wet.

4. Add the chocolate and peanut butter chips.

5. Fill 16 little muffin wrappers and bake for 10-12 minutes.

6. Make your tummy smile 🙂

I hope you are all having a delicious weekend!

What have you been up to the last few days???

14 thoughts on “Experimental Update

    • Thank you! I am trying!!! I thought of you today when I got an e-mail from Devon that restaurant week starts tomorrow!!! Are you around wednesday night?? Ill be up your way because I have an appt with delores and then have to pick ryan up at the airport at 8:45. I was going to catch dinner by myself and maybe go to Target and kill some time. If you are free and would want to get together, let me know!!

  1. That tomato sauce looks AWESOME! And the farmer’s market near me has delicious maters. I’m definitely making it because that is an awesome sauce with no olive oil. I don’t like adding olive oil to sauces. I like them SUPER thick!

    I’m also contemplating making those muffins tomorrow. I wonder if honey would work instead of A.N?

    • Actually honey is what the original recipe calls for! Check out the link to Melissa’s recipe… Hers have some other good additions as well!
      They aren’t some super sweet thing us get at Starbucks but a really yummy treat u can feel good about eating! I crumpled mine into yogurt with some nut butter 🙂

  2. It truly sounds like you are doing wonderful this weekend CJ 🙂 That is just so amazing for me to read, because I have an idea that you are loving it too!
    Those muffins look great, and I like the ingredient list as well. It’s something I would actually be comfortable eating! I know I know, I should “be able” to have anything I want (moderation/balance blah blah blah) but I am far from that point!
    Thank you for inspiring ME to eat what I want to the rest of the weekend!

    • Ha moderation?! That’s a concept I’m still trying to work out too!!! The muffins are yummy! But not sweet like u would expect at Starbucks or something. I crumpled them up in yogurt n it was soooo good!

Leave a Reply

