First Day Goes Smoothie!

Day one with the kiddos is officially over! It was great to see some of the old faces and meet the new crew that will be there for at least the first marking period. As I said last week, I really enjoy school and being with the students, but this morning I was super nervous! Not so much for the actual school portion but more so getting back into an early morning routine and having a very strict time schedule to follow. I am normally very efficient when it comes to time management, but do you ever have those moments, say when you have an early flight, or appointment, and you set an alarm, but your body naturally wakes up in panic mode that you could have over-slept. That was me today! By 4 am I was wide awake and ready to take on the world! Ok, maybe not, but for the first real day of going through the motions, everything went very smoothly….

An appropriate word since I have been dying to tell you about my new gadget that helped make breakfast, and getting out the door amazingly easy!

Have you ever seen one of these?? You probably have since they have apparently been around forever, but the Oster MyBlend is an individual smoothie maker that you just pop off the blade cap, trade it for the sports bottle top, and you can be on your way!

Someone had mentioned this to me a few weeks ago when I was explaining my disastrous relationship with the blender. It would literally take me twenty minutes to get the right consistency, texture, amount, flavor…you name it and I would do it wrong. So the thought of making my favorite snack to take to power me through the morning was almost non-existent before yesterday. There was no way I could spend that amount of time fussing with an electronic for a 20 oz drink! But, I get to school around 7, have typically been up since 4:30, and we only have lunch at noon. Do the math…way too long of a time for this girl to go without nourishment, but actual food is not always an option depending on our class schedule or other disruptions that may occur. A beverage, however, is portable, or can easily be sipped without being distracting, so when I was parusing the aisles at Target (when you don’t have power for 12 hours, you need to find something to do, you know…obviously Target/shopping is the best option) I decided to take a jaunt down the kitchen appliances. And wouldn’t you know it. Right there in front of my was the individual blender, and it was only $25! Of course this meant I had to buy it! And since it helped me get out the door in way less time than anticipated, I would say it was money well spent!

Now I am on the hunt for new recipes and ideas, so if anyone has some to share, please send them my way! Janeetha gave me one last time I posted about smoothies, which was totally delicious featuring fresh summertime peaches, but as variety is the spice of life, I need a few more options!

Come to think of it, nighttime snack is just around the corner and that just might be the perfect time to experiment…

I hope you all had a fantastic Monday! Catch you in the a.m.

4 thoughts on “First Day Goes Smoothie!

Leave a Reply

