Grandpa's Garden Goodness!

Today was super fun and contained four awesome firsts for me!

I won my very first giveaway, thanks to Sarah!!! (http://anotherchapterwritten.blogspot.com/)

Attended the Fun, Fit and Fabulous conference hosted by Highmark

Attempted Zumba!

Had my first ever purple mashed potatoes (Peruvian Mashed? Who knew??)

I love experiencing new things. I think it provides opportunity to extend yourself beyond a comfort zone and into unknown territory. I was nervous walking into a huge ballroom with hundreds of women, none of which I had ever met, and sitting down with my plate at the opening breakfast. But with coffee in my hand and a smile on my face, the entire day was great; meeting people, enjoying the wonderful music and dance of Zumba, hearing a fantastic motivational speech of Dr. Elizabeth Lombardo, and overall totally embracing girl power. If you were at Fun, Fit and Fabulous, and did not leave with a wonderful sense of female empowerment, I don’t think you listened to a single thing, because from the get go, the message and theme of the day was embracing your strengths as a female.

Tomorrow I plan on giving a more in-depth look at Dr. Lombardo’s seminar, because she truly was fantastic, but today I wanted to share the delicious lunch I threw together yesterday, and am again, making this evening for Ryan and I to savor.

Grandpa’s Garden Goodness!

  • Flatout Multi-Grain and Flax deli wraps
  • Tomatoes
  • Balsamic onions
  • Small zucchini
  • Handful of broccoli
  • Cooked spinach
  • Perdue Italian Style Chicken Breast (cooked as bag instructs)
  • Green Pepper
  • Sweet Peppers (from a jar)
  • Cabot 75% Cheddar Cheese
  • Fresh Basil
  • Red Pepper
  • Garlic Salt

1. Cut onions and soak them in balsamic vinegar

2. Cut tomatos, add a little salt and roast them in the oven at 400 degrees (convection) for about 10 minutes

3. Put wrap in the oven for a few minutes to get a slight crisp (that way it wont get all soggy with the good toppings!!!)

4. Cut up all the delicious veggies and set aside in a bowl

5. Take the newly crisped wrap, top with tomato sauce, vegetables, chicken breast, cheese, basil and spices/herbs

6. Throw that baby in the oven (400 degrees convection) for about 10 minutes (keep an eye on it because everyone likes their pizza a little differently!)

7. Put some extra basil and red pepper (if you like spice, of course)

8. Eat and Enjoy

I know this is not in perfect recipe format, or the format Stephanie suggested as HLS, but I think its pretty easy to follow and works for a hodge-podge dinner such as this! Maybe next time I will follow cook book etiquette a little better?

I’m off to the kitchen! Happy dinner 🙂

3 thoughts on “Grandpa's Garden Goodness!

  1. Congrats on winning the giveaway….looks like a great one! I am very impressed how you bounced back from the criticism you received, and even felt gratitude for it.
    you have grown immensely in your ability and willing ness to express your real feelings…….xoxox

Leave a Reply

