Please Read

I feel like I need to apologize for my previous post, or any unwanted feelings it may have caused.  Someone left a very negative comment regarding my blog in general, claiming that because I still have a considerable amount of weight to gain, I am being deceptive and not actually practicing recovery.

I am fine with the fact that she sent her opinion.  And I am sure there are others who feel that way as well, but I wanted to take this opportunity to express that I am aware that I have a LONG way to go in my journey.  Unfortunately most of you have not known me since the beginning of this process, but I can assure you that I have come a long way. 

I write to keep accountable, and I write because it helps me feel better; process the struggles I have on a daily basis.  I would love if I could help someone in their journey and I certainly do not want to trigger anyone, but I cannot censor who I am, nor can I write about ONLY the good aspects of recovery.  If you know anything about getting healthy, you know it is not always easy and I want to convey that honestly.

Do I like the way I look? No. I hate it and am very uncomfortable with the whispers, stares and mean comments like the one I received this evening…so I am going to continue to work on me, writing, and becoming healthy, happy and whole.  After all, that is what MY blog is about…trying to find balance after a long time of distorted and unhealthy living.

Thank you for listening, and I welcome any feedback you would like to offer.

17 thoughts on “Please Read

  1. No matter what you do in life, there will always be critics…don’t let it bring you down or prevent you from bring yourself and doing what you feel is right. I personally think that your SO admirable for having such a realistic view about everything. Like you said, it’s not always rainbows and sunshine. If people can’t accept you at your “worst” then they certainly don’t deserve you at your best. Keep your head high and keep writing with your heart. Don’t be anything but who you are, because who you are is what makes you beautiful..inside and out! 🙂

  2. I agree with Lauren. Keep doing what you are doing if it is therapeutic for you! Eleanor Roosevelt said “do what you feel in your heart is right, for you’ll be criticized anyway…damned if you do, damned if you don’t.” You are exactly right – this is your blog and know that for any of those readers who are criticizing you, there are others who are benefiting from you sharing your experience. I’m enjoying reading about your journey!!!

  3. You are amazing and brave to share your journey with others. I wish you only the best, I hope your blog keeps you well. I think it was an amazing idea to keep one as accountabilty. Recovery means a lot of different things to different people, only you can say how far you have come. Bravo!

  4. As someone who still lives with a full-blown ED, I can honestly tell you that there are few things more frustrating than nothing-but-happy recovery blogs! Not only are they totally unbelievable, they’re also discouraging. EDs aren’t something you just snap out of, and recovery ISN’T all flowers and sunshine. You’re right to be posting about the difficulties alongside the progress.

    Don’t let anyone cut you down for being brave and honest!

    Keep fighting.

    • Thank you Scarlett! It means so much to have a support system and I thank you for saying those nice things! Recovery is hard and I Will not pretend everything is fine when reallysome days its not! Good luck in your journey my darling and thank you again!!!

  5. I struggled with ED for many years as well, and am happy to be on the other end. I know if I can do it, you can too. I think you should write exactly what you are feeling because sometimes it is hard to really come up with words to say out loud that describe the intense internal debate you are constantly having with your self but writing it out helps. You keep doing what you are doing, and continue to heal your body.
    If people feel like they have to cut you down for talking about your recovery, then they shouldn’t read. This blog is your domain to track your recovery.
    It is hard to visualize healing completely at this point since it is a long journey, but take day by day and you will make it.

    • Thank you so much! Its so nice to hear from someone ” on the other side” saying how wonderful life can be. thank you for your encouragement! I can’t tell you how much I appreciate it!!

  6. C.j. I am so proud of you for not being all sunshine and roses. We both know, in the past, you could totally do that. Whoever wrote a negative post has no idea just how indicative of recovery your honest posts are. This blog clearly states it is your journey, not your picture of recovered wellness. You need to do what is helpful to your recovery, and if that is not what others want or need then they should not read it! Keep doin what works for you. I need a healthy friend…xoxo. I love you girl!

  7. Please do not let the negative comments get to you. If you want to talk about them please let me know, because I deal with them every day of the week. Just remember that this is your blog and you have every right to talk about whatever you want on your blog, no matter how hard the subject might be. We all have our levels of recovery when it comes to our lives so we will be here to help you along the way no matter what.

    • Thank you for saying that!!! Initially the comment got me really down on myself but you’re right this is my blog and for once I need to just be me 🙂 thank you for always being so supportive!

Leave a Reply

