First Day Jitters!!!

Oh man its crunch time! Less than 12 hours until I go back to school for our first in-service day!!! This may not sound that exciting to anyone else, but I honestly feel like its Christmas Eve. After having the summer I did at the pool I work for, I am so ready to be back to my normal routine, with constant student entertainment, and zero gossipy old ladies.

Although I am definitely an early to bed early to rise girl naturally, its been a while since my body has woken up at 4:30 and been ready to start the day. I know tomorrow wont be a problem, primarily because I will be running on excitement, but we’ll see how I feel tomorrow night at 7:30 when I get home from work at school, and then the late shift at the pool.

4:30 maybe seem early but I have a pretty standard “get-ready for school” routine that has worked really well for the last year. I always pack my lunch the night before to save a bit of time, but as soon as I get out of bed I like to exercise. If I waited until I got home there is no way I would be motivated to do much of anything, and taking a nice brisk walk does help me wake up a bit. Then I go directly to the shower, apply make-up, blow dry and get dressed. As soon as I finish, I head downstairs, flip on the news, make my coffee, prepare breakfast, eat, pack my bag and head out the door.

I have always believed in a leisurely breakfast because I enjoy food other than cereal and I like taking my time, drinking my coffee and catching up on world events, but I think I am going to try something new tomorrow, which is COMPLETELY unlike me.

You see I am a creature of habit. I don’t do well with change and I certainly do not alter my scheduled routines for fear that something will go wrong, BUT, there is a big part of me that thinks my rigidity needs to take a serious chill pill. Because I am so strict with time frames and customs, I often have difficulty adjusting when things aren’t going perfectly. This is a terrible attribute because in life, things do not always go as planned. Flexibility and adaptation are necessary components to sane survival and I don’t have either one of those qualities.

Tomorrow will be a test. My plan is to work-out and follow the same pattern of physically getting ready, but I am going to try to make a quicker on-the-go breakfast to prepare for situations like oversleeping, when the dogs refuse to come in the house for half an hour, having to help my sister with some things she needs right now, etc. And since I have become obsessed with smoothies lately, what better time than now to have a shake-and-take kind of morning!? I even lined up the ingredients next to my blender so I am all ready to go!

In the mix:

Packed on the side some of my new Warrior Crunch Granola for the extra strength to get through my first day!

Sounds like a pretty awesome breakfast to me, and if it doesn’t work out, there is always Thursday 🙂

What are your morning routines?

Do you follow the same patterns or is there some differences?

Do you have a go-to breakfast?

9 thoughts on “First Day Jitters!!!

  1. We have such a similar routine! I wake up at 4am and do practically the same thing. This fall, I’ll have to alter it a bit when I start teaching RPM (spin) at 5:30am on Mondays and Wednesdays.
    Good luck with the new school year!!!

  2. Have a great day tomorrow sweetheart…Katelyn has 2 job offers!!! Yay a!!! Probably will take a case worker job with kids in Lancaster!!

  3. Good luck tomorrow! You’ll be fine. 🙂 I always have that big surge of excitement First-Day-of-School Eve.

    You sound like me…early sleeper, early riser. But unfortunately I can’t workout in the mornings before I head off to school…so my only option is after school. (Yeah, some school weeks I only get to working out like 3x). How long do you brisk walk for? I could possibly do that, and it’d definately wake me right up.

    Usually on school mornings, I have instant oatmeal/high-protein cereals on hand. I love mixing PB into my oatmeal with bananas and blueberries, and for cereal I usually just use any kind of fruit that I can get ahold of. But I LOVE smoothies!!!!

    My favorite smoothie — a scoop of Whey Protein Powder, 1 tbsp creamy PB, about 1 cup of yogurt, 1 whole banana, and a few dark chocolate almonds (Emerald brand)…Mmmmm, so so good!

    • I usually walk for about 45 minutes. Around 3-3.5 miles. I love oatmeal too!!! Oatmeal pb banana and cinnamon is my favorite combo!!! And kashi go lean crunch! Yum!!!
      I’ve never out almonds in a smoothie but that sounds awesome! Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

