Finally Here!!!

Hello from the Starbucks attached to the Marriot in Philadelphia, PA! For those of you who don’t know, this weekend is the Healthy Living Summit, where I have come to make new friends, learn a ton about blogging, and just overall have a great time. I decided to start my weekend early and come to the city this morning, and have Ryan meet me here this afternoon to go to the Phillies game! And so far today has been absolutely fabulous!

Now I have been to Philly many times. It is only about an hour and a half drive from my house, my dad has a business here, and as a history major I spent a ton of time exploring the old city and enjoying the museums. Ry and I come probably 3 times a year to stay for the weekend and just have a little mini-getaway. (Plus if you live anywhere close, find out when The Philadelphia Restaurant Week is, it is such a deal!) But today I did something I have surprisingly never done…went to the Reading Terminal Market!

Our HLS cocktail party is being held there tomorrow and it is conveniently located right next door so since I was starving, alone, and love seeing new places I took the three second walk across the street to grab some lunch!

This place is hoppin’ at lunch time! Oh my gosh! I wandered around for about half an hour, mesmerized by all the awesome stands and vendors, but literally squeezing through the mobs of people; most of which were staring at me as I whipped out my camera and was snapping photos.

With all these choices and my crazy indecisiveness I could not decide what I wanted for lunch! Everything looked so good…

 

I ended up going to a build-your-own box lunch area since after fifteen minutes and gnawing hunger I still could not decide what I wanted, and created a delicious salad with mixed greens, tomatoes, carrots, grilled chicken, PICKLES (definitely the best part), seasoned salt, a squirt of mustard and balsamic vinegar.

Of course I needed a bit of salt and crunch so I went for some Creamy Ranch Soy Crisps. I used to get these all the time until I fell in love with PopChips and switched it up, but it was definitely nice to have an old favorite. And to round out the meal with a nice sweet treat I had another Heart Thrive Energy Bar. This time I went with Date and it did not disappoint. Perfect way to end my meal.

Ryan was only joining me around 3 so I had a good 2.5 hours to kill, which is super easy in a city such as this. I walked all around and did something I really enjoy…consignment shopping!

Thrift shopping in a bigger city is the best, because they usually have nicer stuff, and in really good condition. Today I found four stores and two of them had brands like Coach, Marc Jacobs, Burberry, Stella McCartney! I was shocked! And to top it off, all their summer stuff was 50% off!!!! I found the most adorable Coach sandals for $30! What a steal! Its not like I need sandals but really, that is a bargain for Coach shoes that are usually over $100! Thank goodness they weren’t in my size so I couldn’t purchase them 😉

After wandering around I found my way back to the hotel as soon was Ryan was down the street. Now he’s taking a little nap-a-roo since he worked night shift last night and only got about 4 hours of sleep this morning, and I am enjoying the jazz of Starbucks and writing to you 🙂

I hope you guys have a great Thursday!

What things do you like to do in a city?

Have you ever been to Philadelphia?

7 thoughts on “Finally Here!!!

Leave a Reply

