Surprise Package Turns Into a Pretty Awesome Lunch

What an awesome way to start my week! I go to grab the mail this morning and noticed a manilla envelope with my name on it! (I love getting snail mail because it is a completely under utilized mechanism of communication, and sometimes I feel it way is more personal than the techno world) And when I opened the package I was even more excited to see 4 packets of Sun Warrior Raw Vegan Protein Powder! The company was nice enough to send me a few samples to try in my smoothies. Often I feel I need to get a little more muscle-building nutrients in my diet but don’t always want meat, eggs and cheese, my primary sources of protein.

And since it was just around lunch time I decided to incorporate my new goodies into my meal. I threw together a nice salad topped with Tribe’s 40 Spices Hummus and some diced turkey, splashed with TJ’s White Balsamic, and then whipped out the blender to make a “Funky Monkey.” Ok, that isn’t really what it is called but I like the name and it kind of fits with the ingredients!

Get Out of the Monday Funk-y Monkey?

  • 1 Packet (21 Grams) of Sun Warrior Raw Vegan Chocolate Protein Powder
  • 2/3 Cup of Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze
  • 1 Tablespoon of PB 2
  • 1 Frozen Banana
  • Handful of Ice Cubes

Place all ingredients in a blender and fire it up!

Voila!

Deliciousness in a bowl J

*On a side note I have to say, this is the first time I ever tried Sun Warrior powder and I will definitely be buying some of the chocolate, asap! I have tried other protein powders before and none contribute to thickness of my shakes or accentuate the flavor.

Now I personally like a super thick shake so I don’t add a lot of milk to begin but, I was even more excited to see that xanathan gum was an ingredient (one of the very few might I add) and Julie from Peanut Butter Fingers told me the other day this works as a great thickening agent…

She was absolutely right! You can probably tell by the photo that this was one of the creamiest smoothies I have ever made, and am already anticipating making one for breakfast tomorrow! So if you are in the market for a product like this, you might want to check it out. It can be ordered online here.

And since I am a girl who loves her carbohydrates, the perfect accompaniment to my smoothie was Almond Flax Oaties…

Now what are Almond Flax Oaties? I was actually going to post this recipe later today but I figure since they were my little side snack, there is no better time than the present!

* 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
* 1/3 cups agave nectar
* 1 egg
* 1/2 tsp vanilla
* 1 cup whole wheat flour
* 1/2 cup oatmeal (Quaker Quick Oats worked just fine J )
* 2/3 cup ground flax
* 1/4 tsp salt
* 1/2 tsp baking powder
* 1/2 tsp baking soda
* 3/4 cup Blue Diamond Honey Roasted Almonds smashed in a baggie
-You could also add chocolate chips, other nuts, or dried fruit if you liked, as well

Preheat Oven to 350 degrees.

Mix applesauce, agave, vanilla and egg together in one bowl.

In another bowl, combine the flour, oatmeal, flax, salt, baking powder and soda.

Stir into the wet ingredients and mix until blended

Smash those almonds in a baggie! I liked to do it with my meat tenderizer but obviously any way the nuts get smashed, is perfectly ok J

Drop by tablespoon onto ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 7-8 minutes.

Enjoy, Enjoy, Enjoy!

Makes about 24 Oaties

Do not expect these to be like decadent Starbucks cookies by any means. They are more like little granola bites that are perfect for topping OIAJ or yogurt. They are not super sweet, but rather dense and chewy and pretty darn healthy! Absolutely something you can feel good about putting into your body!

Enjoy the rest of your Monday!

What is your favorite smoothie??

15 thoughts on “Surprise Package Turns Into a Pretty Awesome Lunch

  1. I keep meaning to by Sun Warrior, but I just can’t quit the pea protein (so good!) My favorite smoothie ATM is pea protein/almond milk/one peach/handful of raspberries/scoop of blueberry flax/ice/splash of POM juice. Just finished one, actually!

    xo

    • Ohhh that smoothie sounds good! I’m on a blended drink kick right now so I’m always looking for new suggestions! Pea protein?! I’ll have to check that out 🙂 can’t wait for Friday!!!

  2. I have looked for the Sun Warrior protein in some stores around here and haven’t been able to find it. I should probably just suck it up and buy some from the Internet!

    • e-mail them and they will send you a sample packet! its really worth it…i seriously have had a smoothie EVERYDAY the last week! they are sooo creamy and thick! i love it

Leave a Reply

