Super Salad and Smoothie Combo

Alright everyone.  I have a seriously good suggestion and I hope you make it ASAP, because I have had it for both lunch and dinner today and I am already dreaming of it for lunch tomorrow.

I really do not think this photo does this salad justice, but I will let the ingredients speak for themselves…

  • Large (and I mean LARGE) Shrimp
  • Cajun Seasoning
  • Strawberries
  • Pineapple
  • Pitted Cherries
  • Greens
  • Newman’s Own Low Fat Sesame Ginger
  • Slivered Honey Roasted Almonds (optional)

Ryan and I were both home for lunch today and I really had no idea what I wanted…a normal problem since I am indecisive about almost everything in life, but when I looked in the fridge I noticed some pineapple my mom had left from an earlier visit this week, and a bag of cherries that probably has only a few good days left.  Hmmm…both these things sound good, so how can I put them together to make a satisfying meal?

Quick evaluation…then I remembered I had some Jumbo Shrimp in the freezer my mom had also brought with her (she definitely spoils me when she brings treats from New Jersey 🙂 ) this week, strawberries and my usual salad mix that is always in the produce drawer.  I had left a comment earlier on Fitopia’s facebook page about how good a shrimp salad looked and I thought the addition of these fruits would be KILLER. 

To balance the sweetness I decided t coat the shrimp in some Cajun Seasoning and put them in a pan.  Plain and simple, Shrimp and Cajun Seasoning in a pan until the shrimp turn pink.

Then I put the greens and cut up fruit in a large Tupperware container and decided I was hungry for Newman’s Own Low Fat Sesame Ginger dressing.  I drizzled about a tablespoon of the dressing over the fruits and veggies, put the lid on the Tupperware and SHAKE SHAKE SHAKE!  (This is my secret because an evenly dressed salad tastes way better than one with naked pieces of lettuce.)

I emptied the greens on the plate and nestled the shrimp in the corner (but just for the photo, those things were cut up and into the salad before you knew it!) and dug in! 

Awesome mix of flavors and actually looked kinda nice on the plate.  While I was chowing down Ryan decided that was what he wanted for dinner so instead of making another whole meal for me to take to work, I just made another big batch of Spicy Shrimp Salad!  It tasted just as good a few hours later 🙂

Of course I needed a little something after my deliciously healthy lunch so I made a smoothie similar to my one last evening.  This time I used half a pint of Coffee Arctic Zero, Almond Milk, and Ice, blended it well and sprinkled on a teaspoon of PB2 Powdered Chocolate Peanut Butter.  It reminded me of a healthified Malt Sundae! 

*now that I am looking at it, it kind of resembles a Wendy’s Frosty!  What can I say?  I am a girl who likes thick smoothies!  Speaking of which I picked up some Chia Seeds and Xanathan Gum today!!!

Enjoy your weekend everyone!

What is your favorite summer salad?

Any smoothie recipes to share?

One thought on “Super Salad and Smoothie Combo

  1. Your salad looks amazing!!! I love fruit in my summer salads. Your smoothies looks good too! I have been experimenting with lots of different smoothie combos lately – I’m loving the pineapple/mango right now…it’s very summery!!

Leave a Reply

