His and Her French Toast

I LOVE when Ryan is on day shift.  It means he leaves for work around 6:15 so I usually make breakfast for us to enjoy together.  One of my husband’s biggest complaints about my disordered eating habits is that we very rarely eat the same things.  I never pick just one dish to make for dinner, there are always two choices…one for me and one for him.  So in an effort to amend my behavior I have made small changes to help our meal times together seem more uniform.  This morning was one example.

Along with the giveaway packages Great Harvest was nice enough to send me some goodies to try!  One thing that was included was a nice big loaf of “Main Line Crunch,” which Debbie (the owner) explained contains cranberries, raisins, pecans, oats and 9 grain mix.  It is dense and chewy and really delicious by itself, but last night as I was dreaming of breakfast…since it is my favorite meal of the day and I do this pretty much every night before I go to bed…and I thought, “DUH! that bread would make an awesome french toast!”

Now, I have an obsession with french toast.  It was always a big fear food of mine  because you always see these heaping, buttery portions at restaurants.  But then I considered that I could easily “health-ify” the dish at home, make TONS of variations, and it was a really excellent way to get all my basic nutrients in a power-packed breakfast (or sometimes lunch, or dinner 🙂 )

For Ryan’s French Toast I mixed the standard…

Eggs

Milk

Vanilla

Sugar

Cinnamon

3 Slices of Main Line Crunch

And let the bread soak for a few minutes while the pan heated up.  Then I added the bread, flipped it when it was ready and threw it in a bowl.  Obviously he needed some fruits so I topped it with a white peach and some strawberries…with just a dash of powdered sugar and a drizzle of syrup to accentuate the sweetness .

Voila!

For mine I used:

Egg Whites

Cinnamon

1/2 Slice of Main Line Crunch

1 Slice of Honey Whole Wheat (another item Debbie was nice enough to send!)

Followed the same instructions as above…

And topped it with plain greek yogurt, some Naturally More flax-seed Peanut Butter, Fresh Strawberries, and a smidge of syrup.

I really think this is my favorite breakfast in the entire universe normally, but it tastes entirely different using a thick, doughy, fresh bread rather than Sara Lee’s Light Wheat.  I mean, obviously there is no comparison!

I hope everyone else enjoys their breakfast!  I know I did 🙂

17 thoughts on “His and Her French Toast

  1. I think it’s so great that you found a guy that is quite aware of your disordered eating habits and still you guys are happy together 🙂 I love that. I have been concerned for so long that my habits would stop me from letting myself be in any type of relationship. I am in one now, but I still hide away my true feelings and behaviors around food…something that is concerning me at the moment!
    But this french toast does look mighty tasty, and good for you to eat together…how lovely 😀

    • haha well poor ryan was pretty much stuck with my ED because he and I have known each other since I was 12! There was absolutely no way to hide it, although I did keep a lot of secrets from him for too long. We actually went to counseling to talk about trust because I had lied so many times. I didnt want to lie, I just did not want to give up what i was doing. It is something I am totally ashamed of now because I am so not a liar but man, when you are wrapped up in disordered eating thoughts, there is nothing that is stopping you from staying comfortable!
      good luck with your relationship. I personally see now, and truly believe, honesty is the best policy because you may need him for support one day and he might not know what to do. You seem like a really awesome person. I can’t imagine he’d go running because of food! haha I have to repeat this to myself sometimes as well, but there really is MORE TO LIFE THAN FOOD! Imagine that 🙂

  2. That breakfast looks amazing!! Will you make me breakfast that early? I never have time for a nice breakfast like that before work so I usually resort to the same old dishes – eggs, oatmeal, peanut butter on and English muffin – you know the ones : )

    • There is nothing wrong with those choices!! I love any breakfast food and would happily make them any time of day! You are always welcome to join! Haha it is the most important meal of the day you know! 🙂

  3. Simply, admirable what you have done here. It is pleasing to look you express from the heart and your clarity on this significant content can be easily looked. Remarkable post and will look forward to your future update.

  4. This is a smart blog. I mean it. You have so much knowledge about this issue, and so much passion. You also know how to make people rally behind it, obviously from the responses. Youve got a design here thats not too flashy, but makes a statement as big as what youre saying. Great job, indeed.

    • Thank you so much for saying that! I was so self concious when I started writing, thinking people who feel I wanted pity or would think my story was stupid, but honestly, all I want is to help someone go through less of a struggle than I did. Comments like yours really make my day so thank you. I appreciate the kind remarks! Have a great sunday 🙂

  5. My grandma used to make something very similar to this and it was fantastic. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. On that note, she also used to make creamed tuna on toast. Do you have a recipe for that that you could provide me? Thanks in advance!

  6. I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

Leave a Reply

