When Life Hands You Lemons, You Make Lemonade!

Or in this case, when the fridge hands you a bunch of vegetables that need to be used, you make PIZZA!!

I smiled this morning when I read Tessa, of Amazing Asset’s (http://amazingasset.com/) post about how one of her goals in August is to conquer some fear foods, including pizza.  I too pretty much avoid the Italian food genre at all costs, unless I have a precise way of measuring the caloric content of the meal.  Pretty silly, considering italian food is absolutely delicious!  On my honeymoon, when we took a cruise through the Mediterranean, I looked at Ryan’s gnocchi, or ravioli, or even that crusty french loaf and wished I could just shut my brain down for the day and enjoy.  There is nothing nutritionally wrong with any of these foods.  In fact they are pretty much powerhouse combo choices containing all the necessary components to provide energy and promote health.  Hello cheese and calcium, carbohydrates and a speedy metabolism!  But despite this knowledge you still do not see me running to the local Pizza Hut.  I do, however, enjoy making my own pizza.

You are probably looking at this thinking, “ew, she totally burnt the crust!”  Actually I didn’t.  I was trying to utilize ingredients I already had, and since I only had Tumaros Rye Tortillas, that is actually what I used as my base.  I love Rye bread, and my newly found Tumaros Rye wraps, so I was kind of excited to see how this turned out…if it would ruin the typical pizza flavor.  But I was pleasantly surprised.  It was really yummy and a nice variation.  So here is what I used to concoct this amazing dinner…

  • Tumaros Rye Wrap
  • Tomato Sauce
  • Broccoli
  • Zucchini (I seriously cut up a whole one)
  • Jarred Sweet Peppers
  • Cabot 1% Milk Cheddar Cheese
  • Spinach
  • Nature’s Promise Spinach and Feta Chicken Sausage
  • LOADS of crushed red pepper, garlic salt and basil

I turned on the oven to 400 degrees convection and threw the shell in for about five minutes, lightly coated with the sauce.  Took it out spread on the veggies and pre-cooked chicken sausage.  Then I grated some cheese and put it back in the oven for about 15 minutes.  It was seriously the easiest dinner for one I have made outside a freezer box.  Ryan works until 8 PM again Thursday and Friday and you can pretty much guarantee this will be on the menu one of those evenings.

Now, it is time to digest, maybe take a little bike ride in this beautiful weather, watch the Bachelorette and catch up on my favorite blogs!  Have a wonderful tuesday night!

Do you have any easy recipes for one?

 

7 thoughts on “When Life Hands You Lemons, You Make Lemonade!

  1. Ah, I feel you lady. I have actually written several side notes about different fear foods I have, including pasta. It’s still hard for me to this day, but I feel like every time i try it it gets easier. But you can do it! Pizza is one of the tastiest foods! If you want, i like to use hummus or pesto instead of marinara! It tastes great!

    • Wow the hummus idea sounds wonderful! As soon as I read that I thought of TJ tomato basil hummus! I will definitely be picking that up to try!! Thanks for the tip girl!

  2. I have two go-to meals when I’m cooking for myself. One – breakfast for dinner – LOVE IT!! I usually make an egg sandwich. My other meal is a steamed bag of broccoli slaw topped with marinara sauce and a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese – so tasty. Although it’s not exactly spaghetti it sure tastes good!

  3. Recipes for 1 or 2 . . . love ’em! My husband and I are always making veggie pizzas, and I love creating interesting burritos and paninis for myself at lunchtime. I have lots of single-serve recipes on my blog — and that’s one of the things I love about blogs because then you’re not stuck with recipes for 6 or more people!

Leave a Reply

