Historical Fiction

It is no secret I love to read.  Lately I have been veering toward the genre of historical fiction, but I am running out of books!  The week of the million degree weather the pool was absolutely dead meaning I was one very bored girl.  There is only so much cleaning I can stand and reading is my go-to boredom-buster but I was so disappointed in the last book I started.  So disappointed in fact that I cannot bear to finish it.  I used to believe you have to finish every book you start.  I don’t know if I was worried about hurting the author’s feelings or that I myself would feel like a quitter but I finished some seriously long and horrible books.  But anyway, The History of Love was recommended to me at my local library and I made it maybe 60-70 pages in and just could not get through it.  Someone else may totally love this book…the librarian obviously did, but it was just not for me.  And as I am learning, that is ok.  There is nothing wrong with having likes and dislikes.

On a more positive note there are several books I absolutely LOVE.

1. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

I had been on a waiting list forever for this book.  Every library within my network had a long line of people itching to get their hands on the popular novel so I was thrilled when I received the Kindle for Valentine’s Day!  The Help was the first book I downloaded and I read it in like three days.  I loved the different voices used throughout the plot, transitioning back and forth between African-American housekeepers and privileged white southern housewives.   It may sound totally stereotypical but Stockett’s character Skeeter made me feel really empowered as a woman!  I wish I could be more like her! That is all I will say because I don’t want to ruin the entire thing so if you have not read this, pick it up ASAP! Or at least see the movie that is coming out in August!

2. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

I read this a few summers ago and although some people think it is too long I thought it was fantastic.  It kind of reminds me of the Da Vinci Code but with more eastern history intertwined.  It is primarily about Vlad the Impaler, the original story of Dracula, but it definitely has some love thrown in to keep it lighter.  I loved this book, but I will let you be the judge.

3. The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova

This is actually by the same author as the Historian but has a very very different plot.  A psychologist is assigned a case about an artist that mysteriously attacks a painting in the National Gallery.  When the artist wont speak but keeps reading a mysterious stack of letters and constantly paints the same woman the doctor becomes more intrigued and takes it upon himself to find out the whole story.  It is definitely not what I expected upon checking this out at the library, but I really enjoyed Kostova’s second work.

4. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Oh my gosh I love this book! I focused primarily on American History in college and had a special interest in World War II so I have read a zillion and one novels on that time period, but this was definitely the most unique.  I know this is vague but I wont say any more other than the way the author writes kept me wanting more the entire time…seriously do not miss this one!

I only named four but there are so many more amazing books out there.  I will try to update continuously with some of my faves, but since I am running out of ideas for my own personal Kindle collection and library list pleaseee send your suggestions my way! 

Afterall, you can never have enough reading material!

3 thoughts on “Historical Fiction

  1. Loved THE HELP…not sure i could plow through the historical ones. Currently i have been enjoying memoirs~ Barack Obama’s mother, Ashley Judd (i never realized she was such a humanitarian). I have also enjoyed Dani Shapiro’s original memoir, SLOW MOTION, and all the rest of her books.
    It is interesting the books we gravitate toward~ ones definitely related to our chosen vocation….

Leave a Reply

