Whirlwind Weekend Starting with Sushi

Oh my gosh is anyone seriously dyeing of heat exhaustion?! The pool has even been quiet…I think people are scared to come out of their homes or something?!  But regardless of the million degree weather I had a great start to my weekend!  I hope you all did, as well!

Friday was my first day off in 11 days, and since Ryan had off too we decided to have a little day date!  I think I mentioned we have a bunch of his friends staying with us next weekend, so we thought it might be a good idea to stock up on some of the essentials and a little extra to accommodate over ten male appetites.  What does that mean?  A trip to Trader Joes and Whole Foods!  And because both places are about an hour drive away, we figured we would enjoy a nice lunch out in downtown West Chester and make an afternoon of it.  I don’t know if any of you have been there but they have the cutest set-up around the college with awesome restaurants, bars and stores.  I just love when you can walk to everything.

We were both really craving a fresh meal considering the extreme temperatures and since we do not have a really good Japanese restaurant in our hometown we decided on a little asian fushion.

I have eaten here before and LOVED it, so I was really excited to try it again. We arrived hungry and decided to share a few things to start.

The Seaweed Salad is my absolute favorite, with a little wasabi added that baby was AMAZING.  The Shu Mei we ordered were a kind I never had, steamed crab.  They were also delicious, and nice and light so I was really glad I picked up a pack last time I was at Trader Joes to stick in the freezer.  Note to self, remember to eat those this week!  Ryan wanted to try the tuna rolls, but I ordered White Tuna Tataki for my lunch so they didn’t seem too appetizing to me.  I am not a huge fan of the sauce that comes on top anyway, but he did confirm they were awesome.

Ry ordered his favorite, shrimp pad thai, for his main portion…

And I had the tuna…

This was seriously enough to feed an army, which was great because Ryan had a full lunch for work on Saturday and I didn’t have to pack it!  I love leftovers!

We got home around 4 and my day off turned out to not be such a day off.  I ended up going into work for about an hour an a half and then had to come home to set up for a yard sale we were having Saturday.  By 9 P.M I was so tired I could barely drag myself to bed.

Saturday I woke up, took a walk and got Ryan out the door by 6:20…by 6:25 there were people standing in my drive way waiting for the yard sale! The ad in the paper said 7-12 but hey, if someone wants to buy my junk that is fine with me.  So from 6:30-11:00 I sold over $200 worth of stuff! I was so happy to get rid of some clutter and make a few dollars in the process!  It will help fund Ryan’s birthday celebration, which we are leaving for in about half an hour!

A birthday sunday filled with The Italian Market, a Phillies game and time spent with great friends…sounds like a good way to end the weekend to me!

Enjoy your Sundays!!

Did you have a busy weekend??

One thought on “Whirlwind Weekend Starting with Sushi

  1. hey doll,
    Just saw this very interesting blog of yours. I may borrow some of your recipes. I have been thinking of and praying for you lots these days. I wish I knew how to tell you and convince you that YOU are more than worth taking care of your essential needs and living a long ,Happy, PEACEFUL. life…
    love you,
    me

Leave a Reply

