Williamsburg Weekend!

Hey Guys!

I hope everyone had a super nice weekend.  As I mentioned in a previous post I was lucky enough to have a little mini-vacay the past few days!  My husband, in-laws and I headed down to Williamsburg for a little history, relaxation and fun.

Ryan and I left early friday morning and broke up the drive with a stop at Jason’s Deli.  Oh my goodness, has anyone ever been there?! There are so so so many choices! I had a hard time chosing but I finally decided on The Mediterranean Wrap with roasted red pepper humus and turkey, along with some nice crunchy baked chips on the side.  It was so refreshing and the perfect way to stretch our legs after three hours in the car.  I wish we had one closer, but I will definitely remember to stop here when we go back to Williamsburg in December.

When we got there it seriously downpoured to the point that you could barely see through the windshield!  So what does one do to brighten the mood on a rainy day like this?! SHOPPING! At a covered outlet mall of course!  These outlets had literally everything….Banana Republic, Lacoste, Harry and David, Kate Spade, Under Armour, etc.  We could have seriously spent days there.

But after a few hours and way too much money spent we went to explore Merchant Square, an area right outside colonial Williamsburg with a little more historic flare, and it started raining again.  It was almost six thirty anyway so Ryan suggested we go find a place for dinner.  We decided on a little pizza shop, zpizza, which apparently is a chain.  Wow.  It was seriously some of the best pizza I have had in a very long time.  Flatbread, with arugula, chicken sausage and plenty of veggies.  But the best part was, right across the street was a SWEET FROGS!  Now I have read about Sweet Frogs on a bunch of blogs and could not wait to give it a try.  Let me tell you, it did not disappoint!  There were so many flavors and toppings to choose from we ended up going all three nights of our trip!  When does moderation turn into obsession?! It was too good to pass up and we do not have anything like it near our hometown.  Ryan was hooked from his first taste of cake batter.  It was an easy sell to get him back there Saturday and Sunday.

The last two days of our trip were spent touring the historic homes and landmarks of colonial Williamsburg.  We saw so much but my favorites had to be The Withe Home, Randolph Home, Governor’s Mansion, the Capital and Basset Hall.  I know that seems like a lot but honestly if you are into history at all, Williamsburg is such a fantastic place to spend a weekend, enjoy a piece of the past, and indulge in some seriously delicious food.

Other places we went were…

The Trelis (http://www.thetrellis.com/)

-gorgeous place to dine outside with homemade nut and grain bread and featuring locally grown produce

Bonefish Grill

-I love Bonefish because you can pretty much create your own fish dish.  This time I went with the Shrimp and Scallop Skewers grilled with mango salsa and fresh steamed vegetables but I have never had a bad meal here.

Christiana Campbell’s (http://www.history.org/visit/diningExperience/christianaCampbells/)

-historic tavern, with meals a little too heavy for my taste, but it was a really cool atmosphere and kept up the spirit of the colonial period.  I mean, it does boast being George Washington’s favorite!

It was sad to leave this morning but once we got on the road I just wanted to get home and get situated.  I have a really busy week working fourteen days in a row, and celebrating my dad’s, mom’s and my husband’s birthday all within a seven-day stretch!  Time management will be key!

What’s your favorite weekend getaway?

3 thoughts on “Williamsburg Weekend!

  1. Sounds like a great time!! I’m very jealous of the Sweet Frogs!!! We need one of those in central PA – actually I’ll take any good fro-yo place : )

  2. Pingback: WIAW: Flying Solo « Healthy, Happy, Whole

Leave a Reply

