These are a few of my favorite things…

I realized aside from the rant about my eating-disordered self, I haven’t really explained who I am.  I figured it might be helpful to briefly list a few of my favorite things, outside family, friends and fitness….

1. Reading

I have loved to read ever since I was a little girl.  I think I read every Sweet Valley and Babysitters Club book about a bagillion times in elementary school.  But the passion I had as a kid continues despite minor changes in genre preference.  Not that I really have a favorite type of book, considering I read almost anything I can get my hands on.  Recently my favorites have included, Sarah’s Key, The Historian, In the Garden of Beasts, The Help, and The Discovery of Witches.

2. Cooking and Baking

Most healthy living bloggers love cooking and baking.  As for cooking I love the creativity of it.  There really are no rules!  It is the ultimate expression of creativity and there are endless possibilities waiting through the stalls of the farmers market, or aisles of the grocery store.  On the contrast I love baking because of the precision.  When I need some control and calm in my life I seem to turn to baking.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy creating my own recipes, but there is something comforting about measuring out ingredients having to perfectly time the oven in order to get the right result.  That probably sounds really strange?

3. Traveling!

This should have probably been number one on my list.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE to travel.  If I had unlimited funds I would definitely go somewhere new every month, but I try to take at least one big trip a year and a few small trips to break up the monotony of my routine at home.  One of my favorite places in the entire universe is Disney World.  I have been there nearly thirty times in my twenty-four year existence and will probably continue to go at least once a year for the rest of my life.  It is the happiest place on earth, after all.

4. History

I was a history major in college.  Don’t ask me what career I really thought I was going to have that had anything to do with American History but I was captivated by every single class I took.  I think that is why I was super excited about the Healthy Living Summit coming to Philadelphia.  Old City is so full of life, but even more full of the past! So if anyone wants a little historic tour, I am always up for being a guide!

5. Being Outdoors

Regardless of the season I could spend the majority of the day outside.  In the winter I work as an alternative educator, but in the summer I manage a pool solely to be outside (ok, and make the guests happy).  My husband and I love to cross-country ski, hike, bike, golf, walk, snow-shoe…anything we can do to be surrounded by fresh-air and mother-nature.  I have never been there but I am hoping this fall we can make a trip down to Monticello to combine my loves of history and environment!  Not to mention I would love to make a visit to Kath and her Great Harvest Bakery!!!

Five things are probably sufficient for now but I will definitely be back with more! Hope you all are having a super day!

What are your favorite things???

One thought on “These are a few of my favorite things…

  1. Some of my favorite things:
    – Reading (right now I’m into really easy reads, I usually don’t have time to read a whole lot so I need something I can put down and pick up easily)
    – Working out
    – Reality TV (I’m a sucker for the Real Housewives of NJ and Jerseylicious)
    – My family (I love spending time at home with my husband and kids)

Leave a Reply

