Are You Happy?

Today in my outpatient program we were going through a book of playful ways to get to know one’s self; a random compilation of questions and pictures with prompts of inquisitions about personal opinions or insights.  One of the questions was, “what makes you happy?”  Easy, right?  Not so much.  I am happy with certain areas of my life.  I love my husband.  I love my sister.  I love my family in general, but there are definitely things I need to change in my life in order to maintain happiness and ultimately a positive path of recovery.  This is where the serenity prayer comes into play. 

…grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.

I like to start with the positive so what can I do?

I can work to make myself healthier.

I can look for a job that will make me happy.

I can replace bad behaviors with good ones.

I can look for the positive in life.

I can stop isolating myself and connect with people.

What is beyond my control?

The things other people do and say.

The past.

What makes you happy?

Leave a Reply

